Author Topic: Lou K's road case  (Read 352 times)

Offline Hooked

• School Prom Hero
  • Good Vibes 2
  • Older? Yes, wiser? Good question!
Lou K's road case
« on: January 19, 2021, 02:25:56 pm »
Greetings all! Intro -
Name: Lou - aka Hooked (on fishing, guitar, cycling)
Gear: Seagull S6, Larrivee OM-40
Guitar-ish bio: Love music - been an avid listener for most of my 63 years. Started ineffective guitar practice 10 years ago, lots of starts and stops, life interruptions, too.
Goals for 2021:

Inspired by Batwoman and others to write this down. Even cribbed some of her words as I can’t improve on them!

I’ve been kicking around with a guitar for 10 years – minimal progress, started and stopped too many times, and could get discouraged about it. So its time to plan the work and work the plan…

Playing
1.   Deliberately following the beginner course through. I have Grade 1 down decently (see below). Grade 2 - need to nail barre chords and good rhythmic strumming. I have an “innate” sense of rhythm, but the metronome mocks me. Have to work on this as part of every practice.
2.   I need to focus on achievable songs – I can play badly several tunes, none well enough that I’d play for anyone else. Polish these before going on to another.
3.   TRUST – rely on this group and 1 or two local friends for feedback taking constructive, helpful advice from people with no stake in this beyond being good people who want others to succeed.
4.   TRUST – myself to learn and grow from my own and others feedback, without despairing that “I can never do this”.
5. Fingerstyle - at least fundamentals. This is really beyond the beginner course, but this is what I want most to get to.

Technical stuff

1.   I have a couple of pieces of recording gear – learn the technical end of capturing my guitar – THEN USE IT! Train my ears to hear and honestly evaluate.