Author Topic: PLEASE HELP - Green adherences on frets of new guitar  (Read 510 times)

Offline GuitarPhil93

• Good Vibes 0
PLEASE HELP - Green adherences on frets of new guitar
« on: January 19, 2021, 11:54:26 am »
Hello everyone, i would kindly like to ask for your help and advice regarding the following:

I recently ordered a new Fender CD-140 SCE as my beginner guitar at a professional music store. On the frets at the bottom end of the fretboard, i noticed these greenish adherences on the frets. I don't think this is something a new guitar should have. However, i'm no guitar expert. Could these traces be resulting from oxidation or could it even be mold? Is this something to worry about?
This is the second a guitar i got from the store; i already replaced it once, since the first one showed similar adherences on the frets and also unusual traces on the fretboard itself. Now i'm thinking of returning this one as well and ordering it somewhere else.

Thanks in advance!

Offline SS7

• Concert Hall Hasbeen
  • Good Vibes 35
Re: PLEASE HELP - Green adherences on frets of new guitar
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2021, 12:04:07 pm »
Hey Phil! Looks like oxidation on the frets to me, it's pretty simple to get rid of. You can get specialized products like fret erasers or polishing tapes to get rid of it, but any household products you may have that can be used for polishing will work just as well. Just make sure you don't use anything too aggressive because you don't want to damage the frets. It's no big deal really.

Sent from my SM-N985F using JustinGuitar Community mobile app

Offline DarrellW

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 195
  • Black country bloke, ijut intollerant 😂
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2021, 12:26:43 pm »