Author Topic: Yamaha thr5 vs thr10ii  (Read 1082 times)

Offline essian

• Good Vibes 0
Yamaha thr5 vs thr10ii
« on: January 10, 2021, 09:21:47 am »
I'm a beginner looking for a small, good looking practice amp for playing fairly quietly in my living room. Longer term I want to play pop, indie, indie-folk type stuff.

Would the thr5 do the trick? I like it because it's smaller, cheaper, less obtrusive and I think it looks better, but I'll go for the 10 if it's going to sound way better (at fairly low volumes) than the thr5.

Offline DarrellW

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 197
  • Black country bloke, ijut intollerant 😂
Re: Yamaha thr5 vs thr10ii
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2021, 09:41:20 am »
The THR10 has other advantages apart from the extra power, some of which you may not need. Both will be good at bedroom volume the THR10 may sound a bit better but that’s debatable. Look at the detailed specifications and look at the differences. The comparison should tell you which would be best for you; if you’re unsure about certain features get back to us and we will explain.

Online sairfingers

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 101
  • 󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿“Keep that one, mark it fab”. Paul McCartney.
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2021, 11:31:18 am »
« Last Edit: January 10, 2021, 11:57:51 am by sairfingers »
Studying Intermediate Course, Folk Fingerstyle and Blues modules.
Pickin’ an’ lickin’.....😎. Martin D28 : Gibson SG : Boss Katana 50.
Road case : https://justinguitarcommunity.com/index.php?topic=48801.0

Offline essian

• Good Vibes 0
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2021, 12:04:01 pm »
Cool thanks both! I don't need much in the way of features right now, so it sounds like the 5 will work out fine.

Offline Majik

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 218
    • My Road Case
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2021, 12:15:14 pm »
I should point out that Yamaha have recently refreshed their THR line and the new "mark II" versions are only available in the THR 10 and THR 30 models.