Author Topic: Low Nut on New Guitar?  (Read 904 times)

Offline Ex-Calif

• Concert Hall Hasbeen
  • Good Vibes 21
  • SoCal kid living in my RV in Florida
Low Nut on New Guitar?
« on: December 31, 2020, 06:52:24 pm »
OK - Beginner here on B1L5 but I am an engineer and pretty good mechanically.

I watched the guitar setup series of videos here pretty carefully - https://www.justinguitar.com/modules/set-up-your-electric-guitar

I also have a very slightly used, new to me Squier Strat. The (pawn shop) salesman said, "The owner is a guitar wizard and sets up al the guitars..."

The first thing I then noticed is that all my bridge blocks are dead level - hmmm... So I decided to start measuring - down the rabbit hole I go - LOL

The first test is to fret the third fret and look for a "little" space above the first fret - Zero space, string is hard aboard the fret.  So, "God hates a coward" as my dad would say so I adjusted the truss rod and got a little space.

Then of course the action down the neck is way high. I worked through it and got the action decent enough. TBH - I have a "cheap" plastic gauge that only has a "low" and "high" setting but have a metal precision one coming so I can't give an accurate number yet.

I set them pretty much at the "low" setting.  Then I worked the intonation and as the video suggested it was way off. I don't have a strobe tuner but I do have a really good tuner and now all the strings ring true note both open and 12th fret.  And yes the bridge blocks are definitely not parallel to each other any more. Also, for example, no matter what fret or string I play an "E" on the tuner calls it an E.  That was definitely not the case before I started.

TBH this whole thing started when practicing the pentatonic first position - certain notes didn't sound quite right. Then when I first checked almost all the 12th fret notes were way sharp.