Author Topic: My first Amp  (Read 2835 times)

Offline bobwill

• Bedroom Rocker
  • Good Vibes 0
My first Amp
« on: December 29, 2020, 05:44:36 pm »
Sorry this question will have been asked and answered a zillion times but each one will be personal to the poster, mine no exception.
I have been learning guitar for 14 months started off with one to one with a tutor stopped because of covid found Justins site and have no intention of going back.
I started with an acoustic guitar of some age EKO texan and last Christmas my wife gave me a present of a Tanglewood TSB58 electric guitar. I have been learning with this guitar for the last 12 months and have not plugged it into an Amp.
I am looking for an Amp that will allow me to listen through my headphones and record to my laptop without using a speaker and microphone.
Now you must understand I know nothing about Amps except the obvious they make the guitar louder.
Reading on the internet so many contradicting statements about solid state and valve Amps and how this is the best solid state Amp because it sounds just like a valve Amp. To me thats like a lady being told to put on this makeup it looks natural. So do without it and be natural and save the bother.
Sorry of the subject, I have two amps I am looking at both by Laney (a company just round the corner from me the two Amps are Chinese made)
1,/ Laney L5 studio
2,/ Laney IRT studio.
They both will allow me to practice silently and record and both are low power valve one lower than the other. At the moment I am favouring the L5 studio because of its lower power and its packaging.
Can I ask should look at something different have I been brainwashed by the internet reviewers.

Offline close2u

• Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 633
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: My first Amp
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2020, 08:16:27 pm »