Author Topic: The Four Hour Guitarist - Applying 'Meta-learning' to the Guitar  (Read 1218 times)

Offline Aidan32

• School Prom Hero
  • Good Vibes 3
The Four Hour Guitarist - Applying 'Meta-learning' to the Guitar
« on: November 10, 2020, 04:16:11 pm »
Hi everyone,

My name is Aidan and I am a beginner guitarist. I have been following Justin’s fantastic course since Lockdown (on and off). Like many I’ve tried in the past but quickly gave up in frustration but thankfully I found his course and I have just begun Grade 2.

I am currently trying to teach myself several skills including maths and Modern Monetary Theory. It has become apparent to me that a very important skill is ‘learning how to learn’ – and this has led me to Tim Ferriss’ meta-learning technique based on his book ‘The Four Hour Chef’.

Out of curiosity, I would like to know people’s views on how they would apply this particular framework to learning the guitar. This technique DiSSS is outlined below;

(Di) Deconstruct – Break down the skill into a sub-set of skills. What are the fundamental components of playing the guitar (acoustic)?

(S) Select – Highest frequency, highest return, least effort (Pareto principle). Identify the 20% available sub-skills that can be used to produce 80% of the desired results (the sub-skills I’ll use most frequently). In other words, If I only had 20% of the time to learn, what sub-skills should I focus on? Also, what do most novices waste their time on?

(S) Sequence – High margin of error, quick competency, early win. Learn and practice the 20% high frequency sub-skills in a sequence that allows you to quickly experience a feeling of competency. In other words, in what order?

(S) Stakes – Deadlines and social incentives. ‘A goal without consequences is wishful thinking’ – set financial penalties or tell a friend you’re going to learn x by date y.

My beginner’s guess at for example Deconstruct would look like;

Chords
Strumming
Songs
Rhythm/Timing/Groove