Author Topic: Skeldol's Road Case  (Read 853 times)

Offline skeldol

• Pub Night Playa
  • Good Vibes 6
Skeldol's Road Case
« on: November 01, 2020, 11:54:22 am »
Thought I should write something up as a kind of guitar diary.

THE BEGINNING
I started playing back in March/April time (no prior experience). My daughter was learning guitar, I'd always wanted to learn a musical instrument & lockdown meant the time was right.  Previously my time had been spent running & rock climbing, I was methodical at improving at both & expected a similar approach would lead to good improvements on guitar.  I kind of hoped that by practicing a lot on the guitar & surely improving my kids would see that practice is the key to getting good at anything.  That didn't work, instead my kids decided that I learnt stuff fast.........

The wife is musical (piano grade 7) and she purchased a secondhand Yahama G120A for us to learn on. 

I thought it sounded great.  But I was confused, why did my strings sound so different to the guy on Youtube?  After a minute or two I realized I was holding a right handed guitar left handed, I'd never considered a guitar could be left or right handed before, I am lefthanded.  I agnoized over whether to buy a left handed guitar, even purchased one on ebay but within minutes cancelled the order.  I thought the guitar stuff I bought should be shareable by the family and that meant right handed.

ONE MONTH IN
So I found Justin Guitar and after learning a couple of chords decided to focus on Mad World.  When I started on Mad World I knew D & A & 4 beat down strumming, that meant I had to learn G, Em & Old Faithful.  I obsessed at it, always thinking I was getting close to a breakthrough.  Around 5-6 weeks I decided I was OK at it & it was time to re-focus on Justin's course. 
https://soundcloud.com/leon-skeldon/mad-world-end-of-april-week-1