Author Topic: Flare's Road Case / Progress Thread  (Read 605 times)

Offline Flare

• Good Vibes 1
Flare's Road Case / Progress Thread
« on: October 27, 2020, 05:19:39 pm »
Hello, everyone.

I'm 18, a student of pre-medical. I got an acoustic guitar this year in late January. I started learning and practised until April, after which I didn't play for about two months, which is why I consider it my progress over eight months.

I will break it into different sections so you guys can easily see different groups of things/sets of skills that I'm referring to.

Why I am sharing this:
To motivate beginners, of course, and get feedback on whether I have been too slow or I have been doing fine.

My knowledge of music before January 2020:
I had absolutely no knowledge of music before I started playing. I had no idea what notes are; I didn't know how many strings a guitar has, let alone their names. It's more than safe to say that I started as an absolute beginner minus two.

Practice routine:
I'm somewhat an "irregular" learner. There are days when I don't practice at all. Rarely (like once every two months), I practice for three hours a day (I have never practiced for an aggregate of more than three hours in a day, I'm sure). Then there are days when I play for just five minutes.
On average, I practice for about 40 minutes to an hour.

Chords that I can play:
  • All open chords
  • Some power chords
  • E-shaped barre chords (and Am-shaped too, obviously)
  • Em-shaped barre chords
  • A-shaped barre chords:
  • -> Using four fingers: ✅
  • -> Using index and ring fingers: ✅

Scales that I can play (not improvise):
  • Major Scale Position 1 and 2 (I started by learning GMaj)
  • Minor Scale (Natural) Position 1, 2, 3, and 4 (I started by learning Dm in Position 1 & 4)

Chord changes:
  • I can smoothly change between all open chords.
  • Same shaped barre chords are easier to change too.
  • Changing from E-shaped barre chords to Em-shaped barre chords is also easy.