Author Topic: Bullet Hardtail versus Affinity  (Read 574 times)

Offline Robin73

• Good Vibes 0
Bullet Hardtail versus Affinity
« on: October 08, 2020, 11:12:07 pm »
I am trying to choose my first electric guitar. I love the sound of the Epiphone LPs but I'm a total beginner and they felt harder to grip and fret. The Squiers felt better. I tried a Mustang but it didn't feel as comfortable as the Strats. I did not like the sound of the regular Bullet or Affinity Strats but there was a Standard HSS strat that I liked but it felt heavier and clunky (I'm quite small) compared with Affinity.

I've now had the local store bring in two options down from warehouse or other stores (I'm in NZ and options are limited pretty limited. Aria and Vintage were the only other options really, and some Jacksons). One is an Affinity Strat HSS but it has the tremolo on it. The second option I'm curious about was this one Hardtail Bullet HSS (it's $200 cheaper than the Affinity with the Trem ($399 cf $599)).

I will wait mostly based on "feel" and sound but any thoughts? Specs on the two say the main (only one I can see actually) is that the Bullet has a Basswood body and the Affinity is Alder. Both show the same pick ups in the specs but they could be different "models" - they just say standard HB and standard SC for both. Fretboard and all else is the same except of course Trem vs Hardtail.

So yeah... what do you think?

Offline close2u

• Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 587
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: Bullet Hardtail versus Affinity
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2020, 11:20:45 pm »
Hi Robin and welcome to the forum.

If you are totally new I would suggest that the tremolo is not something you are going to be using any time soon.
But do'nt think that you should not consider buying a guitar with a tremolo bridge.