Author Topic: St. James Infirmary Blues  (Read 1774 times)

Offline J.W.C.

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 84
St. James Infirmary Blues
« on: October 03, 2020, 10:26:58 pm »
Friday night I arranged bass and drums for this song, and this afternoon I recorded the guitar, vocal, and harmonica.

St. James Infirmary Blues [SoundCloud]
Lossless WAV/PCM version [DropBox]

Recording notes for those interested:

Drums

Sampled drum kit. Separate sample for the ride cymbal. Entered with my MIDI controller.

Bass

Sampled acoustic bass entered with my MIDI controller.

Guitar

Martin OM35e. Used the internal pickup. No mic at all for the guitar on this track. I figured that was okay since the guitar is part of the whole mix with the other instruments, not standing alone.

Vocal

Recorded with a Shure PGA27 condenser mic.

Harmonica

Lee Oskar Am harp. Recorded this with the same Shure PGA27 condenser mic. This was the last thing recorded. I'm a beginner on harmonica, but really wanted some harp on the song. Pretty basic, but at least it's in there!

Effects

All effects added in the DAW before mixing down. EQ, compression, and reverb.

Online Alex6strings

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 64
  • Without the guitar, life would Bb
    • Instagram
Re: St. James Infirmary Blues
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2020, 12:06:54 am »
I listened to this before reading the recording notes and I thought to myself.... 'is that a double bass?'  very cool sounding bass and drum sample there.    I thought your harp was very tasteful and you played it pretty darn good if you ask me.    I agree with the guitar being in the mix here and the pickup sounded cool.  I think it all blended great.