Author Topic: Squier CV Tele - Tone Knob Question  (Read 691 times)

Offline bymbie

• Bedroom Rocker
  • Good Vibes 0
Squier CV Tele - Tone Knob Question
« on: September 29, 2020, 06:13:36 pm »
Hi,

I've been playing guitar with for 5 months. I mainly practice with a Squier CV Tele. I use a VOX Pathfinder 10 practice amp - not sure if this actually matters.

Since day 1, my tone knob is basically on or off. I notice no difference between various levels. It's the same for both pickups, although change from on/off is even less noticeable when I'm on the neck pup. I played with my amp with the theory that the gain/treble/bass settings "override" the tone knob, but it made no audible difference.

I did some research to understand what the tone knob is supposed to do and I believe mine is not working. I checked the wires and some tele wiring diagrams on Fender and everything appears to be good at the control panel (I did not remove my pickups).

This is not a life or death situation, but I was wondering if anyone could help me to diagnose and possibly fix the issue.

Thank you.

Offline DarrellW

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 195
  • Black country bloke, ijut intollerant 😂
Re: Squier CV Tele - Tone Knob Question
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2020, 06:27:10 pm »
The tone knob should progressively change the sound from very treble biased to bass biased to describe it simply. If you can’t tell any difference then it suggests that there could be a wire off or a bad soldered joint. Generally it’s more usual for the tone control to be coarse down to a poor quality pot being used but you would notice the difference end to end of the pot travel.
Still here, still learning - no longer letting Fibromyalgia get in the way, it sucks but doesn’t have to mean your life stops!

Offline bymbie

• Bedroom Rocker
  • Good Vibes 0
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2020, 06:55:41 pm »
Hi DarellW - thank you for the reply.

Here is a picture of my control panel: