Author Topic: Reaper Vsn 6  (Read 875 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tobyjenner

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3787
  • Good Vibes 135
  • You're never too old to Rock'n'Roll
Reaper Vsn 6
« on: August 10, 2020, 04:39:41 pm »
Just a quickie.

Anyone upgraded to Reaper version 6 recently and was it worth it. I've just re-installed the last version of level 5, as a recent update had installed v6 and promptly rejected my licence and failed to recognise my Waves licences. I know its only $60 for the new version but are there any significant gains.

Thoughts appreciated.

Cheers

Toby
 8)
Arrived here Mar 2013 Since completed BC, RUST 1 & 2, IM and MTMS Now on Blues Rhythm and Blues Lead
My Soundcloud : https://soundcloud.com/tobyjenner/
Roadcase : https://justinguitarcommunity.com/index.php?topic=39537.msg339454#msg33945

Offline oldhead49

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 1390
  • Good Vibes 148
Re: Reaper Vsn 6
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2020, 08:17:19 pm »
Toby, I’ve been using the latest version of 6 and haven’t had any problems. I don’t really see any differences from 5. To be honest, when I read through the changes I don’t understand most of them. And I only use Reaper in a minimal fashion; not what you’d call a power user.  I record, use plugs, MIDI, etc.  and I did a video on it with no problems.


Sent from my iPhone using JustinGuitar.com Forum

Offline KasperFauerby

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 1138
  • Good Vibes 116
    • Kaspers SoundCloud
Re: Reaper Vsn 6
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2020, 09:16:43 am »
I was in a similar position earlier this year.

I decided to pay for the upgrade, not because I absolutely needed any of the new features - but the new license is valid up to v7.99, and I figured that sooner or later I would want to upgrade... so I might as well pay up now.

There are small changes and tweaks, especially to the UI, but by and large it works the same way. The good thing about that is that it took minimal effort to get used to the new version.... still works great :)

Offline tobyjenner

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3787
  • Good Vibes 135
  • You're never too old to Rock'n'Roll
Re: Reaper Vsn 6
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2020, 11:37:34 am »
Thanks for the replies guys. Buying the licence for just the "future" proofing makes sense and like I said only $60 or around 50 euros. Can't complain so will update today. Thanks again.

Cheers

Toby
 8)
Arrived here Mar 2013 Since completed BC, RUST 1 & 2, IM and MTMS Now on Blues Rhythm and Blues Lead
My Soundcloud : https://soundcloud.com/tobyjenner/
Roadcase : https://justinguitarcommunity.com/index.php?topic=39537.msg339454#msg33945

Offline tobyjenner

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3787
  • Good Vibes 135
  • You're never too old to Rock'n'Roll
Re: Reaper Vsn 6
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2020, 01:29:21 pm »
OK

So I dug deep into my pockets. Downloaded and installed v6.13 and added the newly acquired licence.
Not recognising plugins !! Removed the 64bit version as I recall some issue a while back with it recognising 32 bit plugins - not sure what Waves are. But my old Reaper was 64 bit and ok !

Installed 32 bit version, wash rinse repeat. Still no plugins being recognised. ARRGGHHHH  >:(

Removed all v6.13 versions and reinstalled 5.987 and life is good once more.

So until I find an answer to this dilemma I'll stick with v5, so I can continue with a new project.

Weird thing about the Waves plugins, when bringing up the FX dialogue box, it finds all the VST versions (but does not load them, saying preserved) but vst2 and 3 all have some kind hexadecimal interpretation of the name. Should have taken a screen print but that's what the names looked like to me. Oh they did not load either .............


So if anyone else has encountered this, especially using Waves plugins (my vst instruments and EZDrummer also not recognised) any pointer would be gratefully accepted. It might just be an internal setting that needs changing, who knows.

Thanks in anticipation.

Cheers

Toby
 8)
Arrived here Mar 2013 Since completed BC, RUST 1 & 2, IM and MTMS Now on Blues Rhythm and Blues Lead
My Soundcloud : https://soundcloud.com/tobyjenner/
Roadcase : https://justinguitarcommunity.com/index.php?topic=39537.msg339454#msg33945

Offline KasperFauerby

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 1138
  • Good Vibes 116
    • Kaspers SoundCloud
Re: Reaper Vsn 6
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2020, 02:03:46 pm »
Hmm, very strange. I've not had any problems with VST plugins in the new version. I primarily use 64bit plugins. I don't have any Waves plugins though.

I guess settings such as search directories and such should carry over when upgrading, but have you double checked? I think there is also a button you can press to re-scan for plugins?

Offline tobyjenner

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3787
  • Good Vibes 135
  • You're never too old to Rock'n'Roll
Re: Reaper Vsn 6
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2020, 03:01:38 pm »
Kasper

Yes its odd. When the new version fired up it had all the old plugin folders carried over. I not only re scanned but also cleared cache and re-scanned to no avail. So when I'm not playing I'll search some of the forums out there but for now version 5 is working as designed. I'm only using some virtual instruments as a guide while I play along side them, getting the feel for the song I am working on.

I could play it over Guitar Pro but I've extracted the midi files and loaded them up in Reaper, so I can also record a few loops along side the rest of the tracks. I'm a bit rusty and this has three guitar parts but ties in with some of the triads I've been working on and some nice melody lines. Once I get it under my fingers, the 3 vst gtr tracks will go, with hopefully mine replacing them. Then I'll just use vst drums bass and 2 synths.

Most of the virtual instrument plugins are freebies but why it would not recognise EZ Drummer who know ? So for now I'd rather be playing than chasing rabbits down holes. Most likely some innocuous setting that needs changing in 6. There will be something out there but no rush for now.

Cheers

Toby
 8)
Arrived here Mar 2013 Since completed BC, RUST 1 & 2, IM and MTMS Now on Blues Rhythm and Blues Lead
My Soundcloud : https://soundcloud.com/tobyjenner/
Roadcase : https://justinguitarcommunity.com/index.php?topic=39537.msg339454#msg33945

 

Get The Forum As A Mobile App