Author Topic: Your Own Songbook  (Read 421 times)

Offline mkgolfer

• Bedroom Rocker
  • Good Vibes 2
Your Own Songbook
« on: July 29, 2020, 11:55:48 pm »
Hi All,
Rather new here and am about to try passing Lesson 7.  In Lesson 5, Justin mentions keeping your own songbook.  I am a beginner and not sure what format to use for my songbook. Tabs, just the chord names...what about rhythm, verses, chorus, bridge? How do I represent that in an easy to read format?
I would like to keep it simple since I am a simple man!
https://justinguitarcommunity.com/Smileys/default/smiley.gif

Thanks Everybody!

Offline J.W.C.

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 74
Re: Your Own Songbook
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2020, 12:22:03 am »
The songs in my "personal songbook" are in one of three basic forms:
  • Just chord names and lyrics (chords written above the lyrics as appropriate).
  • "Lead Sheet" (the melody written out in standard notation, with chord changes above the staff and maybe lyrics below it)
  • "Full Score" (a complete score in standard notation)
That list doesn't include things like published songbooks (e.g., The Real Book, etc). It's only stuff I've compiled or transcribed, or arranged, myself. They're listed in order, with "just chord names and lyrics" being (by far) the most common, and the other two being less common.

Personally, I don't use tab much, but I had the advantage of already knowing how to read/write music before I started playing guitar, as piano was my first instrument. So when I transcribe, I typically write it down in standard notation. I've also found that "internet tab" is often pretty poor. There are exceptions, but often "internet tab" is simply flawed. ("Published tab" that you pay for is a much safer bet, of course.) I might use tab while I'm learning something, but even that is pretty rare, and unlike standard notation, I never "read" it while I'm playing. That's just me, though. I know a lot of guitarists find tab very valuable.