Author Topic: Chord switching  (Read 645 times)

Offline gbanks2020

• Good Vibes 0
Chord switching
« on: May 27, 2020, 05:20:37 pm »
How long should you practice chord switching and should you be able to switch in between all open chords before you try to play songs. I have been playing for about 10 months but i still cant switch fast enough in between chords to play songs.

Offline SillySock7

• School Prom Hero
  • Good Vibes 5
    • My Road Case
Re: Chord switching
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2020, 07:41:36 pm »
You can start learning songs pretty much from the get-go, just play them at a pace you are comfortable - it's actually a great way to improve your chords change speed.

How are you practicing chord changes? Do you do 1 minute changes and chord beat exercises?

Sent from my SM-G975F using JustinGuitar Community mobile app

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong.

Offline sairfingers

• Arena Rocker
  • Good Vibes 30
  • 󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿The guitar is the coolest instrument in the world
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2020, 08:14:52 pm »
How long should you practice chord switching and should you be able to switch in between all open chords before you try to play songs. I have been playing for about 10 months but i still cant switch fast enough in between chords to play songs.
Two questions -
Are you following Justin’s beginner course? I suspect you are not as you only need 3 chords, A,D,E, to start playing songs so you certainly don’t need to be able to switch between “all open chords”. 
How often do you practice and for how long? After 10 months there is something wrong with your practice routine if you are having the difficulties you suggest.

My advice - Follow Justin’s beginner course. Stick at it and 10 months from now you’ll be a wow at parties!
Started with JG Feb 2018. BC (classic) completed, now on IM, Folk Fingerstyle and some Blues licks and impro...😎
Martin D28 : Gibson SG : Boss Katana 50.

Offline close2u

• Administrator