Author Topic: Slowly progressing, new to fingerstyle.  (Read 1912 times)

Offline GiorgioG

• Bedroom Rocker
  • Good Vibes 0
Slowly progressing, new to fingerstyle.
« on: April 20, 2020, 08:49:21 pm »
Hi all, how are you?
I'm new to the fingerstyle guitar style and I bought the Dvd because I wanted to discover something new.
After more or less three weeks, I can slowly play the two patterns with the C chord and the 2 patterns with the G chords.
I'm very slow but very happy about my progress .
The funny thing is that probably my brain is still taking a lot of brainpower, so I'm very slow to change from chord C and G to combine the four pattern together. It's funny because I'm quite fast to change chord while strumming, but while playing fingerstyle with the right hand, the left one gets slower and slower.
I'm not too worried, I guess it is all down to practice and enjoy the gurney .
Have a great evening and stay safe.

Giorgio

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using JustinGuitar Community mobile app

Online DavidP

• All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 415
  • You're always learning about guitars-Keef Richards
Re: Slowly progressing, new to fingerstyle.
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2020, 11:43:46 am »
Yup, I had the same experience, Giorgio.

Just got to be patient.  And in my case, extremely patient as it took me plenty of time to get up to a reasonable speed and lose the need to concentrate intensely on the right-hand. 

Still a long way to go but I find it fun to keep at it and am in no rush to achieve anything specific.

Enjoy the process ...
Began the adventure Dec 2016 expecting little, achieved more than I imagined, and now I'm a happy advancing beginner
Road Case: https://justinguitarcommunity.com/index.php?topic=41958.0
My Music: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCG2X_TlNs7agW-U0EBCDdbw

Offline GiorgioG

• Bedroom Rocker
  • Good Vibes 0
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2020, 03:51:55 pm »
Yup, I had the same experience, Giorgio.