Author Topic: What to Play at a Music Store?  (Read 673 times)

Offline DaveySpeedstar

• Bedroom Rocker
  • Good Vibes 2
What to Play at a Music Store?
« on: September 05, 2019, 06:41:03 pm »
I’ve been playing for about a year. I think my skills are improving, 8’ve got about a dozen chords. G-major scale (in various forms like in The Captains Prvates) and an extended pentatonic scale. However I’m starting to think I need to upgrade my rig (specifically my amp).
So far I’ve bought all my kit 2nd hand through Gumtree EBay etc, but I know that I’m going to have to go to a music store sometime soon to try stuff out, and this seems a bit daunting...I don’t want to look a complete novice/fool/whatever.
Has anyone got any tips of things to play in-store that will help me look half-competent? Could this be the subject of a lesson???

Offline stitch101

• All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 220
Re: What to Play at a Music Store?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2019, 07:21:26 pm »
I hate to tell you this but you need to be half-competent to sound half-competent.
That being said we all started out knowing nothing and in the same boat you're in.

Put together a easy 12 bar blues with a simple solo using the minor pentatonic scale
and practice it until you feel comfortable playing it.
Try and pick a time when the store is slow. This will give you more time to evaluate
gear and mkre time with a staff member to help you.

The biggest thing is do your home work on the gear you want. There are some very
knowledgeable members here who are willing to point you in the right direction and
tell you what to avoid.
Good luck in your search and enjoy the experience.

Offline close2u

• Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 576
  • Teesside, North East England.
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2019, 07:30:32 pm »
What will you want to do with your amp 90% of the time?

Play clean, reverb + chorus chord progressions?

Play loud rock power chords with some distortion?