Author Topic: Bricks & Mortar Music Shops...A Dying Breed  (Read 327 times)

Offline Ziggy75

• Bedroom Rocker
  • Good Vibes 1
  • Metal Wizard in training
Bricks & Mortar Music Shops...A Dying Breed
« on: June 25, 2019, 07:40:12 pm »
I recently (yesterday) went to the nearest music shop to me (in the next town, and I must live in the only city without a music shop) with the intention of looking at acoustic guitars.  They didn't have many BIG names, a couple of Fenders which were out of my price range, so I asked to try a Tanglewood, just to see if it was better than the cheap one I already own which I don't enjoy playing. 

Whilst I was tuning the guitar, the lady who was in the shop brought over 2 other acoustics, that I assumed were in the same price range and set them up in front of me.  I didn't ask for her to do it, but I thought I'd give them a go. (I'm not very experienced with buying guitars)

I spent the next hour in a deserted shop trying the three guitars (and feeling self-conscious), quietly strumming the three guitars in turn until I found one I liked.  It was an "Indie" guitar with gold tuning pegs (which I wasn't fussed on), but it sounded nice and I liked the "feel" of it.  Something in me said it was the one.

When I told the lady I was finished, she brought the price tags over and put them on the guitars.  The one I chose was the most expensive at £275.  I must admit I baulked at the price, but moments later I was informed that I could get a £40 discount.  Happy with my choice, I put a £50 deposit on the beauty.  I pick it up on payday.

I also noticed that the strings on sale were 66% cheaper than on the internet, go figure.  I won't be buying guitars off websites in future, because we need these Brick & Mortar shops, and they are a dying breed.

I couldn't have asked for better service.

Offline stitch101

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 173
Re: Bricks & Mortar Music Shops...A Dying Breed
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2019, 08:02:15 pm »