Author Topic: "15 years playing"  (Read 543 times)

Offline Fresher

• Pub Night Playa
  • Good Vibes 1
"15 years playing"
« on: April 11, 2019, 02:33:35 pm »
Good morning everyone,

So yesterday I took my acoustic guitar for that adjustment that I mentioned in another thread, and something funny happened. The guy that talked to me told me that you put your fingers in the middle of the fret and not close to the fretwire. I said:

- Of course not, you put your finger close to the fretwire, not on top of it, but the closest possible.

And he said:

- I have been playing (guitar) for 15 years.

Meaning that he knows what he's talking about. And then I thought "man, this guy has been playing wrong guitar for 15 years" ;D

But I thought "hmm maybe he's right? I only know what I see on the internet but the fingers close to the fretwire makes so much sense".

Offline DarrellW

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 99
  • What was I doing?
Re: "15 years playing"
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2019, 02:59:08 pm »
Close to the fret is best, down the 12th fret that’s probably near the middle but up by the headstock it would probably result in needing more pressure to get it to ring out properly which could result in being slightly sharp.
Distance and pressure are the main things to get the note to sound right, not too far away from the fret and not too much pressure.
My singing sucks so I’m learning Guitar and Ukulele, it’s fun 🌟

Offline CT

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 71
    • YouTube
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2019, 03:25:58 pm »
It's easy to pull the note sharp if you press down too hard in the middle on frets near the nut. Especially true if your nut is a little higher than it should be.

Offline Fresher

• Pub Night Playa
  • Good Vibes 1
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2019, 03:30:15 pm »