Author Topic: A bass amp for me  (Read 2650 times)

Online batwoman

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 188
A bass amp for me
« on: February 02, 2019, 01:45:52 am »
Practising bass without an amp is limiting. Well that's what I'm telling myself.  ;)  I've only just started reading up about amps. I'm a beginner. I'd use the amp for practising at home, blowing up the neighbours nah, just jokin'  ;D  and perhaps some Open Mics. I also want to plug my stomp into it.

I can lift 20kg, but lighter would be better and it must be easy to lift in and out of the boot of my small hatchback car, so no fridges thanks. :D  Don't want to spend a fortune so not looking at high end stuff.

Any suggestions?

Thankyou  :)
« Last Edit: February 02, 2019, 03:58:59 am by batwoman »
Walcott Custom OM Acoustic , G&L Tribute Fallout Electric, Crafter T035 OM Acoustic, Ashton Bass.

Offline Endureth

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 59
Re: A bass amp for me
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2019, 03:54:26 am »
Any small amp is perfect.  I spend 90% of my time playing through a Crate BX-15.  It's really small but it's easy and non complicated.

No need to over-do it.

Offline DavidP

• All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 365
  • You're always learning about guitars-Keef Richards
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2019, 04:56:15 am »
Maggie, a Blackstar ID:Beam might do the trick for practice at home and perhaps an open mic in a small closed venue, though not sure about that. You wluld be able to play both Red and Cedar through the amp plus an electric if you ever went down that road ... I could imagine you with a hollow body suitable for jazz and blues playing  :)

These amps are small, so light-weight but all the reviews online really positjve. Also gets great feedback from Richard and Darrell here. So an option to consider.