Author Topic: "Just Friends"- Jazz Rendition  (Read 285 times)

Offline Gus Machado

• Bedroom Rocker
  • Good Vibes 2
"Just Friends"- Jazz Rendition
« on: December 10, 2018, 03:37:05 pm »

Hey Guys, Gus here again.
As I am still learning and practicing jazz, and recording my learning. So I want to share my achievements with you guys in order to get some feedback.
This is my rendition of the jazz standard "Just Friends" as taught by Sandra Sherman channel.
Please feel free to comment about my guitar skill, in what concerns chord changes, clarity and tone.

Thanks in advance.

Offline LBro

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 99
  • Well I am working on it.
    • YouTube offerings
Re: "Just Friends"- Jazz Rendition
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2018, 07:56:57 pm »
Hi Gus,
Wow - wish I could help you by commenting but I would not know enough to even know where to start with Jazz. Sounds pretty good to me on this end!

Keep up the study and good works!

Jazz that Rocks!
Lro
You can rock a bit here:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNOrtongjfX4RI33JWKwn7Q/featured

"I just experiment in guitar and music, at times something good comes of it..."
LB

Offline DavidP

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 226
  • You're always learning about guitars-Keef Richards
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2018, 02:45:06 pm »
Gus,

Sounds and looks to me like you are making good progress.

I loved the tone.  Most of the chords and changes sounded smooth and clean.

The only thing that struck me was a couple of moments around 30-40s that sounded a lot brighter, with more bite, than the rest of that smooth, mellow sound.  Don't know what it is supposed to sound like, so can't say if that is an issue or not; just something that struck me listening.

Well done and look forward to more of these videos ...

Online embishop

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 81
  • Playing my way to a new way of thinking. ~ JG
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2018, 12:27:25 pm »