Author Topic: How to care for your guitar?  (Read 607 times)

Offline rodinia

• School Prom Hero
  • Good Vibes 0
How to care for your guitar?
« on: September 09, 2018, 01:33:47 pm »
As a new guitar owner I'm not sure how to care for my guitar properly. She (for some reason it' a she) came in a hard case. If I'm away for a few days what's the best way to store the case? Flat or like a suitcase upright on the long side?

Is it ok to lean her against my sofa? I tried a guitar stand but my flat has thick carpet throughout and the floorboards bend a lot. I returned the stand because this looked too wobbly.

Cleaning? Body and neck are finished with nitrocellulose lacquer apparently.

How often does a guitar need maintenance, and how do I know?

Thanks a lot helping out a complete newby

Offline Majik

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 123
Re: How to care for your guitar?
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2018, 03:17:27 pm »
Avoid leaning your guitar against anything like a wall or sofa when not in the case. If it slips, or is knocked, then the fall could easily damage the neck and/or headstock. A guitar stand is OK. If a floor stand is too wobbly, try a wall hanging bracket.

In a case, obviously such a fall would not be so bad, depending on how well the case protects the guitar. I would still avoid putting it in a position where it could fall though.

Aside from that, it really won't matter how you store it if it's only for a few days. Put it in the case if you fell better about it, but on a decent guitar stand or hanger is just as good.

The only reasons I can see to put it in the case are:

1 - if you are in an extreme temperature/humidity environment and your case has humidity control (and the probably really only matters for acoustic guitars)

2 - to protect it from potential damage from pets or other humans in the house.

I'm a big fan of keeping guitars nearby in a stand rather than in cases, as they are far more likely to be played that way.