Author Topic: Yamaha APX 500/600  (Read 1444 times)

Offline BCDC

• Pub Night Playa
  • Good Vibes 5
Yamaha APX 500/600
« on: September 04, 2018, 06:13:25 pm »
Hi folks,

I am looking for some advice regarding a purchase of an acoustic guitar. I have been learning to play on an electric guitar for the past 20 months. I would now like to dabble a little in playing an acoustic guitar, but I am not 100% sure I will like it long term. So, I am looking to buy a cheap, but not nasty, acoustic guitar to get myself started.

My must have specifications are: (a) cutaway acoustic [because I do not like the look of non-cutaway acoustics], and (b) a thin body [because I do not like playing the wider body acoustics].

I plan to play the guitar only in my office. I have a Blackstar BEAM Core that I could use as an amp if I purchased an acoustic-electric.

At present, I am eyeing off a Yamaha APX-500 or APX-600 (which I believe is just the 2018 ‘upgraded’ version of the APX-500 series. I think the APX-500 has now been discontinued).

Do you think this would be a good starter acoustic guitar for me? If not, does anyone have any recommendations that might fall within a USD $200-$300 price range? In my part of the world, these guitars are $299 New and about $199 second hand.

Sent from my iPhone using JustinGuitar Community mobile app

Offline Gabby84

• Bedroom Rocker
  • Good Vibes 1
Re: Yamaha APX 500/600
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2018, 07:05:02 pm »
As you already figured out-Yamaha makes a good guitar for the price range.

I also heard good things about Ibanez from a friend of mine-who loves the sound and feel.  Not sure of the model name, but within the same price range.  Ibanez makes a model called Talisman-has an electric guitar body type but is an A/E.