Author Topic: DanielC's Road Case  (Read 399 times)

Offline DanielC

• Good Vibes 0
DanielC's Road Case
« on: February 08, 2021, 01:41:41 pm »
Hi there.

I'll try to make this my space where I can monitor over time my personal progress.

Who am I and what's my story?
I am a 30 year old engineer living in Europe. I never really played guitar, except that I learned a few basic chords while I was in highschool. So basically I started from scratch :)

When did I start learning guitar? And what is my current progress?

I started practicing on Jan 24th 2021. I finished Justin's first grade (lessons 1-7), and about to start lesson 8. The first grade was passed with above the minimum requirements performance.

What gear am I using?

For now, I am using an old electric guitar which was borrowed from a friend. It is not set up properly, and has a lot of buzzes (neck should use some adjustments, string replacement), but I am not willing to fiddle with the settings of a guitar which is not mine. Next week I should receive my own guitar: Harley Benton SC Custom II, with an amp. I also have an USB audio interface.

What is my practice schedule and what resources am I using?

I will try to practice each day for at least 30 min to 1 hour, 4 times/week.
I am using Justing guitar beginner course, and in parallel GuitarTricks course, but Justing is the main source.

What are my goals and what do I want to achieve with this?

For this year, I'll try to get to a level at which someone who is not a musical instrument player can enjoy my jamming whithout causing any headaches.
I thought about it, and I'll try to make this a video journey, so in time I can also learn some video editing skills. The videos will start rolling once I receive my guitar, and I'll try to make regular updates.
I'll try to point out in my posts the struggles that I will be dealing with during my learing journey, and my achievements/milestones.
I'm also happy to receive criticism.