Author Topic: String suggestions Please!  (Read 1133 times)

Offline Trish

• School Prom Hero
  • Good Vibes 0
String suggestions Please!
« on: April 06, 2018, 09:45:02 pm »
Hi friends,

I’m a beginner in the phase of  “Changing strings is scary”...
I have an acoustic guitar and I bought what the manufacturer recommended (which were v expensive 🙄)
I also have an Epiphone LP Tribute and I have no clue what to buy... (I’m completely new to electric)

So for the more experience mates here;
What brands and gauge you recommend?
Kind of a reference list we can consult... both acoustic and electric guitar users inputs are welcome 😁

Thanks all!

Offline dman2

• School Prom Hero
  • Good Vibes 1
Re: String suggestions Please!
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2018, 09:55:27 pm »
 Check manufavturer

Sent from my LG-E971 using JustinGuitar Community mobile app

Offline dman2

• School Prom Hero
  • Good Vibes 1
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2018, 09:56:35 pm »
Everybody has favs lighter in my opinion easier to play

Sent from my LG-E971 using JustinGuitar Community mobile app

Offline close2u

• Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 437
  • Teesside, North East England.
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2018, 10:56:40 pm »
If you're a beginner look for:

Acoustic gauge 11
electric gauge 9 or maybe 10 on a Les Paul style

Loads of makes to choose. Rotosound or D'addario or Ernie Ball are well known.
About £4-5 for electric maybe a little more for acoustic.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2018, 07:46:07 am by close2u »

Offline DarrellW

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 99
  • What was I doing?
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2018, 07:23:24 am »
A bit more expensive but they are really lovely to play, I’ve gone over to them after a period of playing nylon strings a lot, they are much easier on your fingers 🤣
https://www.stringsdirect.co.uk/strings-c1/sets-c865/acoustic-guitar-c33/gypsy-jazz-sets-c208/la-bella-gjl-be-gypsy-jazz-silk-steel-light-11-51-p11661