Author Topic: Which guage strings on Pacifica - I have learned on acoustic  (Read 516 times)

Offline BrianJP

• Good Vibes 0
Hi all

I have been learning for 8 months on an Acoustic that is strung with 11 gauge strings. I have just bought my first electric a Yamaha Pacifica strung with  9 gauge. I feel these strings are too light although they are those advised for beginners.
So my question is should I stick with these or maybe change to 11's

Cheers

Sent from my SM-G935F using newbielink:http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=93296 [nonactive]

Offline close2u

• Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 337
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: Strings
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2017, 08:06:48 pm »
10s on a Pacifica will be a good next step.

Offline jono

• Pub Night Playa
  • Good Vibes 6
Re: Which guage strings on Pacifica - I have learned on acoustic
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2017, 12:06:29 am »
I put 10s on my pacifica and they pulled the floating bridge right up. I tried to lower it by tightening the bridge springs but was worried about stripping the wood and gave up and went back to 9s the same day.
It may be normal for the bridge to raise with bigger strings but I was new to it all and didn't want to damage anything.
Although 9s are advised for beginners lots of famous players use them too.

Sent from my SM-N910F using JustinGuitar Community mobile app

Offline Dr Winterbourne

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 54
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2017, 07:16:10 am »
Strings, like picks, are about personal preference. You now know you don't like 9s on a Strat-style guitar. 8 months on 11s on an acoustic mean you aren't a 'beginner' any more, in the sense that that recommendation was for absolute beginners, to best facilitate ease of entry.