Author Topic: The best tip I can pass onto a beginner. Strings !  (Read 1492 times)

Offline troy

• School Prom Hero
  • Good Vibes 1
The best tip I can pass onto a beginner. Strings !
« on: March 23, 2017, 02:10:47 pm »
It's a little while since I was a beginner but I thought I'd pass on this bit of wisdom which helped me a LOT ! Might not be for everyone, I accept that.

So there I was a few years back, keen as mustard and bought myself a cheap Squier acoustic from Argos as a starter, and set out to learn a few basic chords and tunes. OUCH !  Is playing supposed to be this painful ? Fact. Yes it is bloody painful and really quite discouraging when you can only play for a few minutes at a time !

I really hated the the feel of the strings. They were abrasive, bronze things, which if I'd played long enough, would have drawn blood. I'm sure many a beginner has got to this stage thought stuff that and put the guitar in the loft.

Not one to be deterred I read a few forums and picked up a whole load of advice and the solution for me was very simple. Just change the strings !

This goes for for pretty much any guitar, electric or acoustic. When you go into the shop, they are selling you an instrument that performs as best as it possibly can for the cost, so typically an acoustic will come with phosphor bronze strings and an electric with steel strings in order to get the desired tonal quality. Are these strings  good for a beginner just starting out though ?  Not in my opinion.

OK, you will eventually get through the pain barrier if you persevere but why not make life easier. I found these solved all my problems......

They are D'Addario XL Flat Wound Chromes Light Gauge (ECG23).  Have a search on Amazon.

So, essentially they are constructed differently from a normal string. Usually the heaviest 3 strings are "wound" with round wire which makes sliding your fingers around on them painful for beginners. These are wound in the same way but then ground flat.