Author Topic: Is this a guitar problem or an amp issue?  (Read 996 times)

Offline shoreboy31

• Good Vibes 0
Is this a guitar problem or an amp issue?
« on: March 05, 2017, 03:21:37 am »
Guitar is a 2009 Indonesian built Squier Strat. Amp is Line 6 Spider II. I use a roland sheilded cable, 8ft. Problem is the sound. When strumming chords it seems the sound swells, then instantly drops off to a much lower volume, sometimes with a pop or crackle. I know the guitar is not necessarily made with the highest quality components, so I'm wondering if this is an inherent issue with the pickups, or if it's an amp problem. In the video I start with just the neck pickup, then switch to the bridge, and then work my way back up the 5-way switch. Just excuse the crappy playing...lol...I am still a rather green newbie..lol

Offline Drubbing

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 95
Re: Is this a guitar problem or an amp issue?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2017, 08:11:19 am »
Two possible things to my mind

Are the effects turned off? Sounds like there's a chorus or similar effect left on, causing volume swells.

The cuts out and popping suggest a faulty input connection - either at the guitar or the amp. I'd take both to a music store tech and ask them to test it. Best to get qualified people to diagnose electronic issues and not the interweb

Offline DarrellW

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 44
  • What next???
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2017, 10:03:21 am »
Sounds very much to me you have a chorus effect running, the flashing light on the rhs of your amp panel tends to confirm this, pops and crackles are usually down to bad contacts. On that price point guitar it's usually the 5 way switch or the jack input that's not very good, it's the first thing that is commonly upgraded.
Too much to list now, I have a bad case of GAS, UAS, and general ‘must have syndrome’
My bank account and Plastic live in fear!!!

Offline Buckeye1971

• Pub Night Playa
  • Good Vibes 2