Author Topic: my second guitar purchase  (Read 1648 times)

Offline adibranch

• School Prom Hero
  • Good Vibes 2
my second guitar purchase
« on: May 11, 2016, 12:05:23 pm »
Hooray I've got a new guitar coming.  Does my logic make sense in the decision? Who knows... as its my second one I think this is perhaps more important than my first guitar I bought. (The first one was based purely on how it felt, and not how it sounded. It's an Ibanez PC12 MH at £100).

These were the thought processes for the new one.  Right or wrong, I thought I'd post them for others in a similar position. (I'm a beginner/intermediate by the way, and had a budget of around £400 but would go higher if I found something nice.)

So, I had seagull in my mind and went along to a shop with a few and tried them, being set on a folk size with a smaller nut and shorter scale, as I'm a little bloke. I tried a few and decided I liked a 'seagull excursion mini jumbo walnut' purely because of the full rich sound it had. Granted its bigger, sort of between a grand/folk a dread, but not too bad really. These are basically a stripped back but lovely sounding seagull, and I kinda like the rugged unfinished and simple look. Smaller nut and scale, Solid Sitka Spruce top and hardwood walnut laminate sides  .. £400.

Then, I went into a local shop and tried a Martin Junior dread.. and that's where the problem started. These are lovely ! Great sound, great size, all solid, but without the slightly fuller sound that the mini jumbo seagull gave me. Loved the style and build quality and the sound though for a smaller bodied guitar.. £600. (I'd previously tried the taylor GS mini but felt it was too short on the scale even for me, and I didn't like the ebony which kinda felt a bit rubbery)