Author Topic: do accoustic guitars vary *within* models?  (Read 1131 times)

Offline jcb

• School Prom Hero
  • Good Vibes 1
do accoustic guitars vary *within* models?
« on: May 06, 2016, 11:59:28 am »
I currently play a very beginners yamaha f310 and a some version of a $100 oscar schmidt washburn which i have been playing for about 7 years since i took up the guitar (both cheap guitars, but at the time i lived in 2 continents, so had to travel between the two!).
I'm at that stage where i'm about to buy a 'nice' guitar. GAS kicking in  :o Fwiw, i'm leaning towards a Martin 000-15m, but that's the subject of another discussion!
Before i pull the trigger on an expensive guitar (new), i'm wondering if they'll vary much from guitar to guitar within the same model (ie one 000-15m vs another 000-15m - i use the martin example, but the question is about other brands too). You hear so much about musicians buying well worn second hand models because it shows they've been loved and played and sound good. Presumably this means that some just don't?
My fear is obviously that you spend a lot of money, and end up with a 'pup', even though its a brand and a model that gets rave reviews across the board.
the advice always seems to be go and try it, but.... veeery slight variations or build issues that are going to come back and haunt you later... can anybody but a really serious luthier tell? and while there are a lot of good and honest guitar shops out there, there's got to be a natural tendancy to save the peaches for the great musicians, and the run of the mill versions for the intermediate punters who have just fallen in love!
would be super grateful for the collective wisdom of this fantastic forum!
(also, at the risk of opening a real pandora's box, do some brands vary more than others? are martins idiosyncratic vs ever reliable taylors etc? again, just using these names as examples!).

Offline shadowscott007

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 119