Author Topic: Torn by which new guitar to buy  (Read 4165 times)

Offline Rondo

• Good Vibes 0
Torn by which new guitar to buy
« on: April 11, 2016, 10:02:56 am »
First of all, I would like to greet all the members of this forum,  it is great to be a part of such an awesome community, dedicated to mastering this tricky instrument.

Being  pretty much a complete beginner (did try to play when I was in school), my interest in guitar was reinvigorated by discovering  Justin's  channel. Then I dusted off my old  classical guitar, only the discover that the object of my childhood torture, unsurprisingly, is a horrifyingly cheap laminated guitar with high action of almost 1 cm at the 12th fret.  Yes--1 full centimeter! It is pretty much unplayable higher the 9th fret, no matter how strongly you press the strings. It also sounds awful, even after fully tuned and adjusted.

I tried to play it for a month or so, following Justin's beginner course, but I am unable to play even for ten minutes straight without hurting my fingers and getting those nasty lines.

So, just to keep it short, I want to buy a new acoustic guitar-be it nylon-string or steel-string. As I am 6'3 with pretty large hands and do have certain fondness for  any classical pieces on guitar, I was thinking of getting an affordable (for me, that is) classical guitar, say Yamaha C70 or C80.

Thing is that as Justin noted in his course those guitars are made for classical music (Mozart, Bach, etc) and he does not teach them, plus I also really like many folk songs the steel-string guitar is built for. So I, essentially, would like to play both classical and folk-rock ones. I am also aware that getting reasonably good at classical music requires much more time and effort, than say, simple beginner songs on acoustic guitar.