Author Topic: Looking for a decent cheap acoustic  (Read 3471 times)

Offline Loco

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 21
  • Love is too plebeian.
Looking for a decent cheap acoustic
« on: December 20, 2015, 02:24:24 pm »
Hey!

How are you? It's been a long time since my last visit here but don't worry, I didn't give up playing yet :P I was busy and had things to sort out but I think I'm ready to become an active member again :)

Anyway, I'm thinking about buying my first acoustic guitar, it's kinda funny considering that I've been playing on electric for several years by now and rarely touched acoustics :)

The thing is that recently I won a competition at my workplace and as a prize I can buy whatever I want within budget of 1 000 PLN which is about €233 (I can buy something more expensive and pay the difference with my own money). I decided that maybe it's a good excuse to buy another guitar, so here I am :D

Unfortunately I have no idea about acoustic guitars, so could you direct me a bit? Any particular questions I should answer in the beginning?
Prudence is a rich, ugly, old maid courted by incapacity.

Offline Drubbing

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 100
Re: Looking for a decent cheap acoustic
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2015, 02:59:17 pm »
Go play a load of them in your budget. That will tell you more than anyone else can. Hard to go past Yamaha's proven models in that price range.

Offline bradt

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 66
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2015, 05:23:32 pm »
I don't know how available they are in your market, but Alvarez makes some very nice guitars in that price range. I was at a music shop a while back killing time and decided to play a few in the $200-$300 range to compare to the Alvarez MD60 I have, and they sound and play impressively.

Best thing about them is that since they are not a hugely known brand, you can snatch up a second hand Masterworks series Alvarez for $300-$400 easily here in The US.