Author Topic: New Pickups for Ibanez grx40  (Read 4195 times)

Offline ARM_24

• Good Vibes 1
New Pickups for Ibanez grx40
« on: February 12, 2016, 07:11:51 am »
I have an ibanez grx40 electric guitar.....i want to replace the bridge pickup with a dimarzio dp100 super distortion pickup......is it a worthy investment? 
« Last Edit: February 12, 2016, 07:43:38 am by LievenDV »

Offline LievenDV

• Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 183
    • Point Fifty
Re: New Pickups for Ibanez grx40
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2016, 07:58:07 am »

Hi ARM.

An aggressive pickup in bridge combination; you want to play some serious rock I guess? :)
New pickups are an investment but these pickups are reasonable in price.

You should always ask yourself whether you see this moment as a good point to upgrade in guitar as a whole new "better" platform to build on or not.
On the other side, if you are perfectly happy with your guitar, go for it.
I have little experience with dimarzio pickups though. I do think they'll surpass your stock pickups.

Now, the mandatory part, to make sure you don't get disappointed.
May we know what kind of amp you do your shredding on?
I invested in some  pickups before (Bare Knuckle and TV Jones) and I really onjoy the extra "definition" I've gotten out of them. They allow me to get me to a sound I want but my pedals and amp add much to that as well. For years I found it hard to find a good distortion for heavier stuff while my guitar was tweaked as far as I wanted. I have a decent "clean platform" amp and in the end the right pedal in the right spot made it complete.
I have several cheap, small amps with some remarkeable clean sounds. They all sound boxy when trying that metal/80's rock thing on it. Ok, I'm picky bu even with my favorite guitar and pedals these amps don't cut it.