Author Topic: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up  (Read 22391 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline justinguitar

  • Administrator
  • Stadium Superstar
  • *****
  • Posts: 3440
  • Good Vibes 163
    • justinguitar.com
RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« on: April 24, 2014, 12:39:25 pm »
"You can get help from teachers, but you are going to have to learn a lot by yourself, sitting alone in a room." Dr. Seuss

Offline borispulido

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Good Vibes 0
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2015, 09:33:17 pm »
hi justin, whats the better setup for interface´s sensitive (sens) knob?. Same theme, whats the better volume (db) in daw mixer for record electric guitars? thx

Offline mike42

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 1503
  • Good Vibes 44
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2015, 01:57:58 am »
Hi borispulido,

Not sure what you mean by "sensitive knob" in the first question. For the second, I usually shoot for an overall gain of approx. -10 db on the full mix.

I normally record single tracks in the -15 to -20 db range, with the gain on the higher side if there's only a couple tracks in the mix and lower if I intend to record a lot of tracks. That's just my personal preference, but it usually gets me to around -10 db on the mix and ensures I'm not pushing the limit.

Here is a video on gain staging that you may find helpful:




Offline borispulido

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Good Vibes 0
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2015, 05:12:14 pm »
wow thx for the answer helps me a lot!.     about sens knob, thats knob controls the INPUT sensitivity on audio interface.   (sorry for my english  ;D)

Offline mike42

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 1503
  • Good Vibes 44
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2015, 09:15:23 pm »
Got it. You will want to adjust the input sensitivity so that your signal will fall into that -15 or -20 db range (or whatever number you prefer) in your DAW.

The key is that you don't need to record very hot with digital equipment, and a lower signal will tend to be better because it gives you more headroom before you run into clipping problems.

Offline tobyjenner

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3826
  • Good Vibes 138
  • You're never too old to Rock'n'Roll
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2015, 03:00:52 pm »
Hi folks

I'm looking a setting up some basic recording ability and the more I delve into the subject, the more confused I get and think its time to seek some advice and guidance from the forum.

I've been able to record my electric guitars, either directly into my PC or via an Amp into the PC, using either Audacity or Guitar Rig 5 but I'm now considering recording my acoustic and vocals (the latter being a BIG consideration!). What I don't want to do is record via video camera or phone but to establish a simple but effective set up for now.

My current equipment (excluding guitars) are :
Behringer GX110 Amp

Marshall Lead 12 Amp (a relic from the Stone Age)

Zoom GFX707 effects pedal


DAWs as above.

Basic objectives are as follow :

1 - Record Acoustic
2- Record Acoustic and Vocals
3 - Record Electric and Vocals
4 - Ensure Vocals are recordable (outside the scope of this post) ;D
5 - Potentially play and sing (?) independent of PC or laptop - ie just amps (whoa scary!!).

If I understand things correctly and to keep things as simple as possible, I need the following :

Microphone
Pre-Amp / Audio Interface (assuming computer sound card is a weak link and the need to just use the amps).
Associated cables.
Pop filter ?

Is this the minimum set up to get me going?
Shoud I start with a Dynamic or Condenser Mic, as it will be just home recording to start with?

If its any help, I've been looking at these items from Thomann :

http://www.thomann.de/intl/behringer_xenyx_302_usb.htm

http://www.thomann.de/intl/behringer_xm8500.htm


I know that buy cheap buy twice is a well repeated saying in these parts but I'm really after a low cost entry for now as its going to be personal recording and inflicting more pain on the forum, especially if the singing lark gets going.

Thanks in advance of any response.

Cheers

Toby
 8)
Arrived here Mar 2013 Since completed BC, RUST 1 & 2, IM and MTMS Now on Blues Rhythm and Blues Lead
My Soundcloud : https://soundcloud.com/tobyjenner/
Roadcase : https://justinguitarcommunity.com/index.php?topic=39537.msg339454#msg33945

Offline digger72

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2219
  • Good Vibes 100
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2015, 08:59:24 pm »
Hi Toby,

I use a simple set up:

Mic (Rode Nt2a or Shure Sm57 - depending what i'm doing)

in to

Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 (Interface)

in to

My Daw - Ableton.

I have a pop shield for the Rode as i use that for vocals, though they are just rough - Katja does the proper stuff.

You'll need a cable (XLR (?)) for the mic

And that's all i use. No soundproofing, etc. I just mic the amp up for guitars, or use the Rode for the acoustic.


Cheers,

Digger

Offline tobyjenner

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3826
  • Good Vibes 138
  • You're never too old to Rock'n'Roll
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2015, 11:32:07 pm »
Cheers Digger

Seems a simple set up. Having looked at what you are using, it seems similar to my base choice but I'm keeping the cost down,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,coz my vocals stink. Seems to be like for like we're looking at similar devices but you're using both dynamic and condenser mics...why?  One for vocals one for guitar ?
And don't throw the Katja curve ball me as I know she rocks real good but been a while since she posted 8)
Arrived here Mar 2013 Since completed BC, RUST 1 & 2, IM and MTMS Now on Blues Rhythm and Blues Lead
My Soundcloud : https://soundcloud.com/tobyjenner/
Roadcase : https://justinguitarcommunity.com/index.php?topic=39537.msg339454#msg33945

Offline tobyjenner

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3826
  • Good Vibes 138
  • You're never too old to Rock'n'Roll
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2015, 03:31:36 pm »
Went for this AI in the end, as most articles I've read suggest 2 mics are better for recording guitar and
vocals together. And it was only 20 euro extra.

http://www.thomann.de/intl/behringer_xenyx_q802_usb.htm


I'll start out with just the one and see how it goes but at least I'm kinda future proofed if I need to use two ;D
Also it gets my wife off my back, as these will be a birthday present and she thinks I've been dragging my heels sorting it out. Just hope its here by the end of the month or I'm dead ;)

Thanks for the help 8)
Arrived here Mar 2013 Since completed BC, RUST 1 & 2, IM and MTMS Now on Blues Rhythm and Blues Lead
My Soundcloud : https://soundcloud.com/tobyjenner/
Roadcase : https://justinguitarcommunity.com/index.php?topic=39537.msg339454#msg33945

Offline digger72

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2219
  • Good Vibes 100
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2015, 06:48:22 pm »
That looks like a nice piece of kit.
Not sure why i went for 2 mics in the end - got a gear lust i think. I tend to use the Shure solely for the amp and the Rode for acoustic and vocals. Why? I just like the way they pick up sound, but i most certainly don't get the best out of them.
Good that you've future proofed. Also, if you have 2 inputs and you get them set at levels that seem good for recording vocals and one for guitar you can leave them as sort of presets.

Katja and I do all our songs together now - thought i'd ride on her coat tails. :D

Be sure to post some audio when you're up and running.

Digger

Offline tobyjenner

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3826
  • Good Vibes 138
  • You're never too old to Rock'n'Roll
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2015, 07:45:57 pm »
Digger

I hope it works as good as it looks :)

Will definitely be recording, once I work how to hook it all together. Need get all this fingerstyle stuff 'assessed', as I've spent so long working on it!! Could always record one of the electrics (clean) but it just doesn't seem the same to me - bar Wonderful Tonight off course.

Hopefully, it will all be wrapped up nicely for my 59th on the 30th of this month 8)
Arrived here Mar 2013 Since completed BC, RUST 1 & 2, IM and MTMS Now on Blues Rhythm and Blues Lead
My Soundcloud : https://soundcloud.com/tobyjenner/
Roadcase : https://justinguitarcommunity.com/index.php?topic=39537.msg339454#msg33945

Offline Amtiskaw

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Good Vibes 0
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2017, 08:01:27 pm »
You should really add a proviso to this guide that one of your recommended audio interfaces, the Focusrite Scarlet 2i2, does not have enough gain to properly work with a Shure SM57 for anything but the loudest of sounds. It seems this is a commonly encountered newbie problem[1], and the only good solution is to spend another £100 on an external microphone preamp with higher gain.

Kinda frustrating to discover this only after buying the equipment!

[1] gearslutz.com/board/11054045-post6.html

Offline Scu8a8uddy

  • Bedroom Rocker
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Good Vibes 2
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2018, 12:47:23 pm »
So.... as I'm in a bit of a rut....perhaps more accurately that I have no idea how I am progressing with my playing, I thought I would try recording myself.  I've read many posts on the subject and it is often mentioned that recording with a mic is always better than recording directly to Garage Band via i-rig or similar set up. However I cannot find any mention of recording via usb from a modelling amp such as the Fender Mustang GT.  Any thoughts please?

Offline Majik

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2462
  • Good Vibes 188
    • My Road Case
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2018, 02:34:37 pm »
IMO recording with a mic isn't always better.

Sure, it's what professional recording studios do, but they have the budget to buy high end tube amps, mics and mic preamps, and have acoustically treated recording rooms, plus audio technicians with expertise in mic placement, gain staging, and so on.

Most home recorders don't have any of this.

When you mic an amp you record, not only the amp (and a specific sound from the amp depending on mic placement) but also the tone of the mic, the mic preamps and the room and any external noise (heating systems, air conditioning, computer fans, string noise from the guitar).

There's a lot of variables there which influence and complicate the recording process.

Recording direct from a modelling amp or pedal is a lot easier, and a lot easier to get right and to get a good result with. All you need to worry about is the USB record level.

Of course, it also depends on whether you like the sound that the USB output of your amp gives you.

If you are after professional-level recordings or want to learn some of these skills, and you have decent gear  (or a conventional analogue amp with no USB  recording capabilities) micing it up and recording that way is worthwhile considering.

Otherwise, if you have a decent modelling amp/pedal with USB recording capabilities and are primarily recording your own practice/playing IMO USB recording is the best  option.

Cheers,

Keith

Sent from my [device_name] using JustinGuitar Community mobile app
Guitars: PRS Singlecut S2, Fender Tele Lite Ash, G&L Legacy Tribute, Freshman Apollo 2 OCBX, Gibson SG Special P90
Amps: Bugera G5 Head, Boss Katana 100
All sorts of other stuff.

Offline CT

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2393
  • Good Vibes 130
    • YouTube
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #14 on: August 05, 2018, 03:22:43 pm »
@Scu8a8uddy, recording in Garageband via USB from an amp is drop dead simple. Connect the USB to the amp and computer, open up Garageband and select the amp as the input when Garageband opens. You'll even find that the default volume level of your first track to be spot on as well.   

Offline Scu8a8uddy

  • Bedroom Rocker
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Good Vibes 2
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #15 on: August 05, 2018, 04:07:03 pm »
@CT. Cheers, I've just given it my first try with Logic Pro (pretty much the same as Garageband) and I found the quality fine for my purposes (although I wish I could say the same for my playing!!!!!!).

Offline CT

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2393
  • Good Vibes 130
    • YouTube
Re: RT-102 • Home Recording Set Up
« Reply #16 on: August 05, 2018, 06:15:41 pm »
I know what you mean, my stretch goal is to eventually become mediocre. :)

 

Get The Forum As A Mobile App