Author Topic: Mix Clinic? Scooter Trash and TB-AV?  (Read 1195 times)

Offline Borodog

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 92
Mix Clinic? Scooter Trash and TB-AV?
« on: April 10, 2014, 05:46:13 pm »
Would anybody be interested in a longer term, in depth discussion of production and mixing? Particularly, would Scooter Trash and TB-AV be interested in guiding such a discussion, since you guys seem to be pros?

Insert humorous signature here.

Offline Scooter Trash

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 80
Re: Mix Clinic? Scooter Trash and TB-AV?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2014, 05:52:06 pm »
My background is in live sound reinforcement (20+years).. Only been recording for 3 years but would be willing to share whatever I can.
I dream of a better tomorrow where chickens can cross roads without their motives being questioned.

Offline Borodog

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 92
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2014, 08:54:36 pm »
So it took me forever to get around to multi-tracking a recording that we could use for this (I've been recording everything live to my looper pedal lately, so you have no control over the mix afterward), but I finally recorded something with multiple tracks:

https://soundcloud.com/borodog/down-on-the-corner-cover

This will never be a great track because I am not a great musician or singer. But it could probably be a better track with a better mix. If anyone would like to critique the mix or make suggestions about how to improve it, I am all ears.

The individual track I have are:

- 100 bpm click track (silent, of course)
- Cowbell (mono)
- Shaker (mono)
- Hi hat (stereo)
- Bass drum + snare (stereo)
- Rhythm guitar (mono)
- "Riff" guitar (mono)
- Main vocal (mono. This track is "wet"; I recorded the vocal through my guitar effects processor to get the sound, so there is currently no dry vocal track, although recording one would be easy enough)