Author Topic: SB-306 • Sunshine Of Your Love - Cream (Eric Clapton)  (Read 8933 times)

Offline Indigo

• Administrator
  • Arena Rocker
  • Good Vibes 3

Offline jim23

• Good Vibes 1
Re: SB-306 • Sunshine Of Your Love - Cream (Eric Clapton)
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2013, 10:16:03 pm »
Hi,
What key is this song in? Also what scale is it derived from? Any outside notes?
I'm a beginner trying to get my head round it.

Offline sophiehiker

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 34
  • Salida, Colorado USA
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2013, 01:30:37 pm »
Well, I learned it from this acoustic version by Clapton.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osalLZDo_SQ  The chords are the same as the electric version Justin teaches.

IMHO, The intro and verse start out in the key of D.  The riff is D minor pentatonic passing through the b5 blue note.

The key changes to G at the "I'll be with you darling soon" verse.  Again the riff is G minor pentatonic passing through the b5 blue note.

The chorus goes back to the key of D with a bVII chord (A,C,G =V, bVII, IV).

Hope that helps.   :)
...where the deer and the antelope play.  Well, they're not really playing.  They're fleeing in terror.

Offline tommyc

• Good Vibes 0
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2014, 05:13:29 pm »
Are you guys muting strings in the second riff, where you're on 11 and 12 of the D and G strings? Also, do you have a finger anchored on the guitar for those? I'm having a hard time not hitting other strings there when I'm not anchored... and if I am anchored, well,I have a hard time getting anchored in time when coming back from the power chords

Offline misterg

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 125
  • Wales, UK
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2014, 08:31:33 pm »
Hi and welcome :)