Author Topic: Do you have advice for my first jam session :) ?  (Read 1296 times)

Offline JulieSun

• Pub Night Playa
  • Good Vibes 3
Do you have advice for my first jam session :) ?
« on: May 23, 2013, 01:15:14 pm »
Hi hello!

Ive not posted that much around here yet, but Im reading some stuff others post and
look around for any cool vids and songs that are posted by many of you :)

My friend and I are about to meet up for our first jam session. She is a bassplayer of about 8
years experience and I... well... Im a starting guitarist with about 2 years max exp :P
My focus at the moment is learning my scales and notes on the guitar neck, I began training
myself by transcribing guitar melodies and solos from existing songs that I like.
Although I can't transcribe chords yet. I have so much to learn about how to construct chords.

But to get to the point, is that she's played with others before and I haven't really.
Mostly the people I play with or 'jam' with, are better than me, so I haven't got a clue in fact
as to where to begin when we actually start jamming.

What I'd love to do is get to know several guitar styles, rhythm (because I really really like funky music)
and soloing and finger (bluesy) style. And I want to try to mix them in order to get a unique sound.

But the thing is, I'm looking for some advice on where to start to get to work somewhat
structurized so that we can kind of work towards something. Probably picking out some songs
that we both like and try transcribing them ourselves right? I have learned a couple of things
on theory already, it enlightened me a lot especially since I have a better understanding about
Time Signatures, Keys and Scales at the moment but I'm unsure on how to work with a bassplayer :)

(its alright to play with a fellow guitarist, but this is new to me)
Last time I tried to jam with a friend who is also learning bass guitar, we both ended up kind of, not paying attention to one another.