Author Topic: Songwriting - working in collaborations, etc  (Read 5553 times)

Offline digger72

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 94
Songwriting - working in collaborations, etc
« on: February 24, 2013, 12:04:19 pm »
Hi all,

First up; i'm not very good at this sort of thing, so apologies if it makes no sense whatsoever.

Second: hopefully I don't come across as some dodgy salesman when i write that I've gone from nothing to where i am now using Justin's lessons, Ustream show, and the kind help of members of the forum. Sometimes i read - "Justin - do more rock lessons, etc." The basics you need for most forms of music are already within the site. Take the basics - listen to the types of music you like, then apply them.

Theory: if you know some - great. If you don't - don't worry - you've got ears. I know a little, but if i use i, it is subconsciously - i don't think, hmm, this chord resolves to the next because... I think hmm, that sounds nice with that. Not saying it's unimportant - just saying you don't need to have encyclopedic knowledge. Music by numbers - paint by numbers? Just a thought. (that will probably get me in trouble with the theory aficionados.)

Collaborations: the key to this is finding people who first of all genuinely want to record songs. Second that they are willing to be flexible. Third, that you get on. Obviously, it helps if you like similar types of music, but it can throw up some interesting stuff if you have differing tastes. I like Depeche Mode, and some keyboard stuff - Endureth doesn't care for it at all. He likes tambourines and triangles and recorders - I tend not to. Don't limit your creativity.

In another thread it was suggested that someone put up some wavs/stems from a song so that others could see how a track was put together, and if they wanted, so that they could mix that track themselves; so here's the complete files for one of mine.

http://www.4shared.com/rar/bDH2x9AJ/new_lover_mix_your_own.html

This was my mix: