Author Topic: split from Cure guitar thread / pickups  (Read 2259 times)

Offline Dan Graves

• All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 172
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
split from Cure guitar thread / pickups
« on: September 04, 2012, 06:40:33 pm »
I'm no expert either, but I think a lot of humbuckers have a hotter output which will more readily distort the input of an amp

That's actually a quite common misconception.
The amount of added output needed to really push a decent tube amp into distortion lies far beyond what one can do with passive pickups, and even with any production model active pickup (unles a booster circuit is used).
The higher pickup output will affect tonality, compression and overal tightness, but it won't do all too much distortion wise.

Dan..... are you smoking crack again?

I think i should have worded that differently.
What i meant was, as i mentioned in a later post, it doesn't do as much for pushing the amp as some would have you believe.
Even with an HB measuring 23k it doesn't push an amp all that much harder than lower output pickups.
It changes the tonality, sure, but it's not like you all of a sudden have tons more gain on tap.

Offline TB-AV

• Honorable Ex-Mod
  • All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 331
Re: split from Cure guitar thread / pickups
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2012, 07:09:41 pm »
....and..... because of that, they will not push an amp into compression which usually means it has already been pushed so far that it's power supply can no longer keep up.

Regular pickup - Amp on 4
Hotter pickup might sound like amp is on 5 or so.

Amp maxed out.... a low output pickup might not starve it's power supply. Hi output pickup maybe it will.

Gone

Offline Dan Graves

• All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 172
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2012, 10:33:50 pm »
And how many of the Justin guitar users will ever max out the amp, on average ?