Author Topic: That F chord again  (Read 2216 times)

Offline Gemius

• Bedroom Rocker
  • Good Vibes 1
That F chord again
« on: April 21, 2012, 08:19:08 pm »
I've been playing for nearly two years and have made good progress. Common chords are no problem, I rarely look at my left hand and I can play Barre chords up the neck except for one thing. I thought my big F chord was OK when strumming but lately I've started finger picking and it has exposed that as not true. Try as I might I cannot get the double pluck on the 2nd and 6th strings (as per Justins Lessons) to ring out clearly when playing F maj.

I've tried changing to the alternative grip of barring 1 & 2 with the index finger and the 6th string with my thumb, but while all the fingers are fine with my thumb in the middle of the neck it all goes Pear shaped when I try to wrap it over the top.

Am I right in saying I will never need to fret the 1st string when finger picking F? In which case, with my index finger vertical I can get my thumb over more easily, and is this a common problem and does anyone have any other solutions to it other than what I know I've got to do from my own experience and has been said many times before. ie Practice practice practice.

Offline shadowscott007

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 117
Re: That F chord again
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2012, 09:37:48 pm »
Am I right in saying I will never need to fret the 1st string when finger picking F?

I don't think you can say that.  The first string is the root note and I imagine that at least on occasion that would be a note one would need play as the melody note.

As for the thumb over technique, that takes a while to get the hang of.  But is quite handly once you get it down.  Make sure to practice both the major and minor shape at the same time while you are at it.  I my hand goes into a slight different "pear" between the the.