Author Topic: Best option for recording (newbie)  (Read 1755 times)

Shaun-UK

Best option for recording (newbie)
« on: March 15, 2012, 06:31:39 pm »
Hi, I am after something to record myself playing my acoustic (that has no pickups) and singing. Now I can't spend much money and I don't expect to be able to get top quality equipment because of that. I just want a simple device to start out with until I can afford a better camera and a seperate mic. Saying that a £15 webcam won't be good enough ;)

So do I look into buying a Panasonic Lumix type of digi cam that seems to be able to record good videos as well as taking good photos OR a dedicated video recorder? I guess the second option would be better value for money for what I would use it for and if so is there anything I should look for when trying to pick a video camera?

Thanks for any help, I am a newbie at recording and can't afford anything expensive yet. I still have to sweeten the missus up after spending out on a Martin D15M last weekend :)

Offline jacksroadhouse

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 48
    • Acoustic Passion Blog
Re: Best option for recording (newbie)
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2012, 06:56:18 pm »
The first question would be whether you just want to record your playing/singing or if you want to record videos as well. Also, some idea as to your budget would be helpful - "not much" is a somewhat relative ;)

Shaun-UK

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2012, 07:08:43 pm »
Oh good point !

Yeah I want it for recording videos of me playing/singing. As for budget I guess £150 would be good but could stretch to £250-£300 if I get something much better for the money. Afterall I will probably use it for recording family type stuff as well as just music.

Thanks again!

Offline TB-AV

• Honorable Ex-Mod
  • All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 329
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2012, 07:20:56 pm »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2O-hyBvJxdo&context=C412453bADvjVQa1PpcFOMqHDIOCHXqu-1WDqLjTo8pgLSkgk0DE4=