Author Topic: Acronis Clone vs Backup  (Read 2184 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TB-AV

  • Honorable Ex-Mod
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 14966
  • Good Vibes 329
Re: Acronis Clone vs Backup
« Reply #15 on: January 27, 2012, 12:49:27 am »
Yeah, I can access the files no problem. Just connect it to one of the other PC's via USB. I've already copied a lot of stuff.

That's what is so strange.

So I wonder if I can use MozBackup on the working PC and point it to this USB folder. I was under the impression it was for  backing up the local running copy of Thunderbird. I'll have to try it and see. That would be nice if does work. Save me a lot of setup.
Gone

Offline misterg

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2552
  • Good Vibes 125
  • Wales, UK
Re: Acronis Clone vs Backup
« Reply #16 on: January 27, 2012, 01:02:01 am »
I wouldn't do any more backups - I think you need to flag the disk as bootable and set the active partition to the Windows partition.

I ended up with something similar where I got BSOD booting from the HD, but could boot to command prompt from a DR DOS CD and then run windows OK on the hard drive. I can't remember exactly what I used to sort it out - might have been Partition Magic - it was definitely responsible for me getting into the situation in the first place - or it might have been installing the 'Recovery Console'.

As I said above, I think that the disk will only boot on the system (= motherboard) that was in use whenyou originally installed windows on the drive.

Andy

Offline TB-AV

  • Honorable Ex-Mod
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 14966
  • Good Vibes 329
Re: Acronis Clone vs Backup
« Reply #17 on: January 27, 2012, 02:22:20 am »
That's the only place I'm trying to boot it.

IOW, I took it out to put the clone in. The clone didn't work. It has only one partition. I don;t know how to flag it for anything. Took cloned disk back out. Replaced original drive and now it hangs at the scren that looks like a dark blue bar at top and bottom and light blue field with the XP logo.

Gone

Offline misterg

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2552
  • Good Vibes 125
  • Wales, UK
Re: Acronis Clone vs Backup
« Reply #18 on: January 27, 2012, 04:54:56 pm »
Can you boot from CD?

Offline TB-AV

  • Honorable Ex-Mod
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 14966
  • Good Vibes 329
Re: Acronis Clone vs Backup
« Reply #19 on: January 27, 2012, 10:35:37 pm »
I was able to get the seagate stuff to boot from CD but the XP install disk will not fire up. It runs but as I mentioned it hangs at one screen. Never get's to install, run recovery, etc.

Gone

Offline misterg

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2552
  • Good Vibes 125
  • Wales, UK
Re: Acronis Clone vs Backup
« Reply #20 on: January 27, 2012, 11:59:12 pm »
Is there a boot sector tool in the Seagate stuff?

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6607
  • Good Vibes 171
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
Re: Acronis Clone vs Backup
« Reply #21 on: January 28, 2012, 12:40:00 am »
http://www.hiren.info/pages/bootcd
Download and burn that, and use some of it's DOS tools to fix the MBR on the drive, see if that helps.

Offline TB-AV

  • Honorable Ex-Mod
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 14966
  • Good Vibes 329
Re: Acronis Clone vs Backup
« Reply #22 on: January 28, 2012, 01:11:34 am »
10-4, I might have a copy of that already. I found my notes on the memory but the old BIOS really doesn't allow much in the way of tweaking it. I can't seem to find the voltage the MoBo runs the memory at and the notes say to run at 2.6-2.7.

Tried new cable and secondary IDE header. I think if I can get this cloned drive bootable it work. I also think the old drive might have gotten corrupted as it's been filled up to like zero free space several times. I would get blue screens sometimes when that happened.

I do want to get this PC running again though. It's a perfectly good PC. I'm not overly concerned about that drive and data but I am a bit puzzled on why I can't get the XP CD to fire up. I wonder if it's because the drive is out of space and the install is trying to use it and can't find enough. That doesn't seem right though.

@misterg. Nope, not that I noticed anyway. I"ll check though.
Gone

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6607
  • Good Vibes 171
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
Re: Acronis Clone vs Backup
« Reply #23 on: January 28, 2012, 03:00:23 am »
Sometimes XP install cd's have issues booting to install from a Sata drive...
Got any old IDE dvd/cd drives around ?

Offline TB-AV

  • Honorable Ex-Mod
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 14966
  • Good Vibes 329
Re: Acronis Clone vs Backup
« Reply #24 on: January 28, 2012, 03:16:29 am »
Oh really?.... yes, in fact I think I do.
Gone

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6607
  • Good Vibes 171
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
Re: Acronis Clone vs Backup
« Reply #25 on: January 28, 2012, 09:46:11 pm »
Try it then, it can't hurt.

 

Get The Forum As A Mobile App