Author Topic: BS-409 • Live Forever - Oasis  (Read 22753 times)

Offline justinguitar

• Administrator
  • Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 163
    • justinguitar.com
BS-409 • Live Forever - Oasis
« on: December 15, 2011, 09:58:14 pm »
« Last Edit: January 27, 2012, 10:17:17 pm by Indigo »
"You can get help from teachers, but you are going to have to learn a lot by yourself, sitting alone in a room." Dr. Seuss

Offline jeffbrig

• Good Vibes 1
Re: BS-409 • Live Forever - Oasis
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2012, 02:04:29 pm »
Let me preface this by saying it's probably a dumb question.  Beginner here, <2 months playing.

Playing around with the more advanced strumming pattern here.  Aside from a few extra strums thrown in, the basic pattern is
D  D  DUD  D

For some reason, I keep wanting to turn that DUD into a DDU, even if I keep the same timing.  I like the sound of the down strum better there.  Is this a bad habit (flipping a strum), something I should avoid doing?

Offline sophiehiker

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 34
  • Salida, Colorado USA
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2012, 03:01:14 pm »
It's a real good idea to learn the strumming pattern before you improvise on it.  Once you learn the pattern, then you can feel free to exercise artistic license to modify it.

Make sure your strumming arm is moving in a consistent manner, like a pendulum, while playing.

If I remember correctly, the advanced strumming pattern on this song is 16th note strumming. More of an intermediate technique.  Maybe that's what's confusing.

...where the deer and the antelope play.  Well, they're not really playing.  They're fleeing in terror.

Offline jeffbrig

• Good Vibes 1
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2012, 03:14:42 pm »
Thanks for the quick response sophiehiker!