Author Topic: BKP for my Agile  (Read 1786 times)

EVH Fan

BKP for my Agile
« on: May 30, 2011, 02:56:22 am »
Well with my amp search to get the tone I need I will need to first swap my pickups. I already got a set of Seymour Duncans picked out I want to put in the guitar, but I want other options to maybe find something that will work better. So I want to look at BKP since they are highly regarded, but I have little knowledge of their pickups. I want pickups that will be great for hard rock like Led Zeppelin, Van Halen, Judas Priest, Black Sabbath, AC/DC, etc. So basically any hard rock from the 70s and 80s.

For the bridge I want something that is nice and clear, moderately tight sounding (doesn't sound flabby when palm muting), huge fat sound, preferably not mid scooped. The amount of gain I use probably around the amount some of the bands mentioned above use.

And for the neck I want that real nice woody sound, with a clear and smooth top end. Basically I only use the neck pickup for clean tones and some overdriven lead work.

I'm not sure if they sell active pickups or not, but I only want passive. Output and magnets doesn't matter to much, and I don't want something that is crazy high output.

So my picks just based on info and sound clips on their website are... the Stormy Monday for the neck position. I like the VHII, Nailbomb, and Holydiver for the bridge position. I may take a calibrated set if you think it would work better for what I want. So any info and thoughts on how the pickups I mentioned or others will sound in the Agile and work for the sounds I want is much appreciated.

So at the moment the Stormy Monday is my favorite neck pickup and the VHII is my favorite Bridge (maybe a calibrated VHII set). So I especially want to know how those would sound in the Agile. Would they be muddy, bright, would they go good together, etc...

Slight edit: