Author Topic: Which browser?  (Read 8731 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6476
  • Good Vibes 91
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #25 on: August 01, 2011, 04:49:36 pm »
I've already run into a problem with Pale Moon... I use the standard Windows magnifying tool (otherwise I can't read or see what I'm writing) and it doesn't react to the cursor positions in Pale Moon. The only browsers which I've found to actually support this are IE and Firefox. I used Chrome for a brief period of time and that also refused to support it (not sure how it is now, though).
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion
Production and mixing

Offline Wishbone

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3511
  • Good Vibes 106
  • Scouse B'Stard
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #26 on: August 01, 2011, 06:39:12 pm »
Cue-

Further to Dan's explanation......... As of Firefox update to version 3.16 or 3.18 or so (can't remember which), they decided to allow 'plugin-container.exe' to handle extensions. What happened though, was that firewalls blocked it automatically and it wasn't very well explained to the average newbie that it was ok to allow it. Ergo, it ended up blocked and Firefox would go bonkers as a result.

It took me five minutes of head scratching before I'd figured out what they'd done......... but I've unblocked a fair few PC's whose owners have been tearing their hair out trying to figure out what was going on.

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6476
  • Good Vibes 91
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #27 on: August 01, 2011, 07:06:27 pm »
I'm not sure if plugin-container.exe is blocked or not. I do have been wondering what it was before, when I saw it in the task manager for the first time. I can't really find a rule to allow the exe to send or receive connections - but then again I don't know under which name it resides in that list.
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion
Production and mixing

Offline Wishbone

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3511
  • Good Vibes 106
  • Scouse B'Stard
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #28 on: August 01, 2011, 09:27:21 pm »
Whichever firewall you have, there will be a facility in the settings for allowing or restricting access for any programmes requiring network access. These generally take the form of rules lists and are usually divided into three main lists: Trusted, Untrusted and Restricted Access (or by some other name, but the function remains the same). You can set custom rules yourself, but those are the three basic attributes of your rules lists.

You need to find those settings and make sure 'plugin-container.exe' is allowed access, or it ceases to function properly and causes no end of silly buggers in Firefox.

Offline close2u

  • Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 13597
  • Good Vibes 604
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #29 on: August 01, 2011, 11:05:10 pm »
Just a thought, Close........ but have you set a rule in your firewall to allow 'plugin-container.exe'? 

Just looked and it has full access

ok

so if I go with Pale Moon and transfer my bookmarks ok, how do I fully uninstall my other browsers? I don't need more than one do I?

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6237
  • Good Vibes 172
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #30 on: August 02, 2011, 12:02:53 am »
Well i wouldn't try to uninstall IE, windows will have a fit.
But Firefox uninstall just like any other software : control panel > programs and feautures > pick out firefox and uninstall that resource hog !

Offline old-and-in-the-way

  • Concert Hall Hasbeen
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
  • Good Vibes 5
  • That's what I heard him say
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #31 on: August 02, 2011, 06:04:59 am »

Offline Wishbone

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3511
  • Good Vibes 106
  • Scouse B'Stard
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #32 on: August 02, 2011, 07:10:31 am »
Old-

I read that one last night as I sat down for my first cuppa after work........ Nearly killed another keyboard  ;D

Offline close2u

  • Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 13597
  • Good Vibes 604
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #33 on: August 02, 2011, 07:34:00 am »
Well i wouldn't try to uninstall IE, windows will have a fit.

I did wonder about that ... which is why I asked. Thanks Dan.

+

that link from old-and-in-the-way
no mention in that article of Pale Moon ... but mentions for Opera and Camino
is Pale Moon so new and little known?

I definitely want to change emy PC over from IE

but for my laptop ... what are the pros & cons of Pale Moon  over FF?

Offline Wishbone

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3511
  • Good Vibes 106
  • Scouse B'Stard
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #34 on: August 02, 2011, 08:22:51 am »
Close-

IE is so deeply integrated into the Windows OS that you'll lobotomise your pc if you actually manage to uninstall it completely. The best thing is to keep it up to date, but just don't use it  :-\

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6476
  • Good Vibes 91
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #35 on: August 02, 2011, 11:58:21 am »
What Wish said. And I can't do without IE because some things (very few things nowadays) actually don't work in Firefox which do in IE. I had even more problems with this compatibility issue when I still used Chrome.

@old

Well, I guess I'm of average intelligence... ;D
Great link!
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion
Production and mixing

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6237
  • Good Vibes 172
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #36 on: August 02, 2011, 06:22:10 pm »
Well i wouldn't try to uninstall IE, windows will have a fit.

I did wonder about that ... which is why I asked. Thanks Dan.

+

that link from old-and-in-the-way
no mention in that article of Pale Moon ... but mentions for Opera and Camino
is Pale Moon so new and little known?

I definitely want to change emy PC over from IE

but for my laptop ... what are the pros & cons of Pale Moon  over FF?

No bloatware, less CPU and memory use, you decide if you want the old Firefox look or if you like the new and 'improved' GUI...
And best of all, since it basically is just a redressed, mimimal version of Firefox, you can migrate all your addons.

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6237
  • Good Vibes 172
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #37 on: August 02, 2011, 06:25:34 pm »
IE ?
Are you kidding ?
Please tell me you're kidding.

I'm saying nothing, honest gov

I read that and spat my Jolt cola all over my screen.
Once i forwarded the link to all my coworkers/minions, i heard a collective 'sploosh!' coming from the office floor as they all spat their starschmucks latté's and other overpriced coffees over their collective screens.
The kleenex people will be making a lot of extra cash this week.

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6476
  • Good Vibes 91
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #38 on: August 02, 2011, 11:12:19 pm »
I'm ashamed now to say I actually like Opera. :P
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion
Production and mixing

Offline close2u

  • Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 13597
  • Good Vibes 604
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #39 on: August 03, 2011, 09:09:25 pm »
I installed Pale Moon - migrated my settings then uninstalled Firefox.

Same as before ...

go to open a new tab and it takes ages ... sometimes hanging for 10 seconds or more ... sometimes the screen brings up a strange distorted shot of another tab ... mostly if youtube tab is open ....

Also I used to copy, paste, open links quickly by

Ctrl C
Ctrl T
Ctrl V
Enter

that doesn't work now as the tab opens so slowly

harumph!

 ???

btw
this is on my laptop
haven't altered desktop yet from IE
« Last Edit: August 04, 2011, 06:53:34 am by close2u »

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6237
  • Good Vibes 172
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #40 on: August 04, 2011, 12:58:16 am »
Which version of Pale Moon did you install, the 3.x or 4.x branch ?
And what kind of CPU does your lappy have close ?

Offline close2u

  • Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 13597
  • Good Vibes 604
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #41 on: August 04, 2011, 07:01:37 am »
Dan, there were two options

3.6.18 or 5.0
I opted for 5.0

CPU is a Pentium Dual Core T4200 @2.00 GHz ... 3.00GB RAM, 32 bit OS, Vista home premium


I'm wondering if it's something to do with youtube or streaming .... the first time I go to watch a yt vid after start up it takes a while to get going, the strange screen when opening a new tab is usually of the yt tab that is open ... is there some sort of compatibility / associated file type that I may need to install or upgrade causing this?

On a separate issue ... in the forum ... to submit or review a post ... alt+s and alt+p don't work in pale moon ... they do in IE ... can I alter the settings to get this functionality back?

Thanks

Offline misterg

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2437
  • Good Vibes 125
  • Wales, UK
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #42 on: August 04, 2011, 09:51:15 am »
@ C2u - Granny & eggs thing, but are you confident you haven't got some malware in there?

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6237
  • Good Vibes 172
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #43 on: August 04, 2011, 02:37:02 pm »
You should have opted for the 3x. branch close, less CPU intensive.
However, it should not run this slow.
I'd suggest removing all Java and adobe flash/shockwave installs, reinstalling them and seeing if one of them is the culprit.
This is starting to sound like Java and it's 40 thieves, uhm, i mean, 40 installs hogwash from before it was bought by Oracle.

As for IE functions : different browser man, different keycombos.
Alt+s and alt+p doesn't do anything in my IE or Pale Moon (beyond making ß and ö symbols), so i'm wondering what you have assigned to that  ???

Offline close2u

  • Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 13597
  • Good Vibes 604
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #44 on: August 04, 2011, 02:58:27 pm »
malware ... I've done virus scans and security checks .. but who knows what lurks beneath?

version 3 or 5 ... worth swapping?

I have had messages in youtube about video not playing , update player ...

I think Java recently flashed an update message at me too which I may have gone along with

I got rid of adobe from a long ago suggestion you made to get a different pdf reader

shockwave ... need to check

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6237
  • Good Vibes 172
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #45 on: August 04, 2011, 03:43:49 pm »
Adobe FLASH close, shockwave and flash are now owned by Adobe ;-)
Just do as i suggested : uninstall flash, shockwave and ANY instances of java, clean out the registry (try ccleaner) then get new installers for all of them and reinstall them.
I'll bet it'll help at least a little bit.

Offline close2u

  • Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 13597
  • Good Vibes 604
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #46 on: August 04, 2011, 04:24:20 pm »
I'll try that and report back
thanks Dan

 :)

Offline LBro

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3783
  • Good Vibes 151
  • Well I am working on it.
    • YouTube offerings
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #47 on: August 05, 2011, 10:34:38 pm »
Close,
Just a quick thought on this end...
Just noticed something and I do not think it is your problem but you might get some perforamance gain from this little deal. Is your Ram DDR? Your "3.00GB RAM" is an odd amount and possibly another stick would ballance out the load there. Do you have 4 rambo slots? If it is DDR Ram and if a slott is open I would consider adding one more stick of RAM. Are you running 32 a 32 bit OS? If by chance you are up in 64 bit land that extra RAM will help there as well.

LB
You can rock a bit here:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNOrtongjfX4RI33JWKwn7Q/featured

"I just experiment in guitar and music, at times something good comes of it..."
LB

Offline close2u

  • Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 13597
  • Good Vibes 604
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #48 on: August 05, 2011, 10:46:46 pm »
@ Dan

Ok

all of those programs uninstalled and installed again

pale moon running

full ccleaner done

custom scan done

all seems much better and tabs are opening with no hanging ... seems good

@ LBro

I'm not sure what that all means .. I know it's 32 bit ... don't know about the DDR or Rambo slots


Offline LBro

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3783
  • Good Vibes 151
  • Well I am working on it.
    • YouTube offerings
Re: Which browser?
« Reply #49 on: August 05, 2011, 11:08:11 pm »
I should stop my slang Close... I mean RAM slotts. Sorry I do see you said 32 bit now below as well and Vista. Hum.... is this a clone computer or a brand one that has a model number? If you supply that I will look up the Ram specs for ya... Dan might know it off the top of his head though if He is around. Sufice to say DDR RAM runs best in sets... of 2 normally unless something passed me by. On mother boards with 4 slotts you are normaly better off populationg either 2 slots or 4. But normaly in sets of 2. Matched set is even better.

Here is a bit on DDR:
"Short for Double Data Rate-Synchronous DRAM, a type of SDRAM that supports data transfers on both edges of each clock cycle (the rising and falling edges), effectively doubling the memory chip's data throughput. DDR-SDRAM also consumes less power, which makes it well-suited to notebook computers. DDR-SDRAM is also called SDRAM II. and DDRAM."
Reff: Webopedia...
Note the importand thing here is DDR Ram needs 2 sticks together to do it's magic throughput doubling.

LB
You can rock a bit here:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNOrtongjfX4RI33JWKwn7Q/featured

"I just experiment in guitar and music, at times something good comes of it..."
LB

 

Get The Forum As A Mobile App