Author Topic: Linux and Android apps that help out  (Read 794 times)

dgoemans

Linux and Android apps that help out
« on: January 02, 2011, 11:44:28 am »
Hi there,

I'm just starting out, and i just wanted to share some apps that i'm using under Linux and Android that have been a help so far. On my netbook i'm running Ubuntu 10.04 and these apps come straight out of the default repositories. I also have a combined audio in/out on my netbook, so i am not using the linux tuner app on a daily basis. So here's my list:

Linux:
  • GTick - Metronome. Horrible UI and sounds, but it's really functional and includes some nice settings like tapping for beat
  • TuxGuitar - Allows you to layout nice chord progressions
  • Lingot - Tuner

Android
  • gStrings - Amazing tuner app, i also paid for the pro version. i've been using it to tune both my acoustic and electric
  • Solo Lite - Brilliant app for testing chords and constructing your own sequences, pro version also available ( which i'll buy when i start using it more )
  • Mobile Metronome - Good metronome app, highest rated free one. Permissions seem a bit excessive but it is ad sponsored ( paid ad free version is avail ).

So what i've been doing is using an Amplug ( Vox classic rock ) and putting my phone or pc into the aux in, and then headphones on the line out. That way my wife can continue playing on the XBox while i'm practicing, and i get either Justin's videos or my metronome alongside what i'm playing. The same will work with most amps.

Please share your experiences and suggested apps too!