Author Topic: IM-113 • Major Scale Position 1  (Read 49645 times)

Offline justinguitar

• Administrator
  • Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 163
    • justinguitar.com
IM-113 • Major Scale Position 1
« on: December 03, 2010, 11:44:32 am »
Questions...
"You can get help from teachers, but you are going to have to learn a lot by yourself, sitting alone in a room." Dr. Seuss

Offline icedfiend

• School Prom Hero
  • Good Vibes 0
Re: IM-113 • Major Scale Position 1
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2010, 12:18:03 am »
I started learning Major scale with the "Master The Major Scale" DVD (so far I've got down to position 2). While watching this lesson I played this first position slowly. Suddenly I noticed that when landing on the root note at the first string I was doing always an up pick instead of a down pick... The problem was that while going from 5th string (note D) to 4th string (note E) I was doing 2 down pics instead of a down pick and up pick... it looks like my hand found it more natural going that way than the regular alternate picking pattern.

Is this a really bad habit that should be corrected or is it ok to do it like that?

Thanks for the help!

Keep up the great work Justin!

flyhead

« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2010, 09:01:59 am »
After you have learnt to alternate pick flawlessly you can choose to play things as you wish, but it is important to master perfect technique before doing so. I would suggest that you correct this reflex before it becomes an encumbrance.

jgette90

« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2010, 03:26:25 pm »
"The Major Scale has seven notes (plus the octave in practice), which in solfege are the syllables: Do, Re, Mi, Fa, Sol, La, Ti and Do"

So, in G major position, why the seventh note, which is supposed to be an F, is at the fourth fret of the fourth string and not at the third fret, like it is in theory?

Offline TB-AV

• Honorable Ex-Mod
  • All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 331
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2010, 08:45:12 pm »