Author Topic: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)  (Read 5932 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6607
  • Good Vibes 171
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #45 on: July 28, 2010, 05:34:58 pm »
I'd say just disable it, you can always re-enable it if necessary. ;)
My FF seems to do fine, 100 MB RAM usage with two forums open.

And if he does that his Java conks out and there's a chance half the websites he visits will have issues.

Irish, you are running an old and depricated evrsion of Java, which is why you are getting that message.
I suggest you uninstall your current Java from your pc and then get the newest version here : http://www.java.com/en/download/
That will fix the issue.

Offline irishalkies

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2053
  • Good Vibes 36
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #46 on: July 28, 2010, 06:02:56 pm »
Call me stupid, but I'm just not exactly computer savvy. How do I uninstall Java? I've gone to control panel > programs and feautures and I've got Java(TM) 6 update 20. If I click on it I get an uninstall option. Is it that simple and will it uninstall the Firefox Java add-ons in the process before I install the clean version?

Cheers.

Irish.

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6607
  • Good Vibes 171
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #47 on: July 28, 2010, 06:13:36 pm »
Yes, it's that simple.

Offline Wishbone

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 4086
  • Good Vibes 105
  • Scouse B'Stard
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #48 on: July 28, 2010, 06:13:50 pm »
Irish-

Go to Control Panel / Add Remove Programmes and uninstall every version of Java you see there. The versions are a pain in the backside, 'cos they seem to install independantly of earlier versions, so you could have the last five versions showing, but only the latest one required. Save some space and ditch what you see

http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp

Download the one you need for your OS and install. Latest version is 'Version 6 Update 21'.

Offline irishalkies

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2053
  • Good Vibes 36
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #49 on: July 28, 2010, 06:27:04 pm »
Done, and the offending add-on is gone.

Cheers lads.

Wish. I take it you must be using XP since you mentioned add/remove programs. I'm using Windows 7 ultimate, and I only had one installation of Java. But when I uninstalled it said uninstalling version 16/17/18/19/20 - so it seems that Windows 7 keeps them all in one place, whilst XP stocks them up as separate installations.


cdcaddx

  • Guest
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #50 on: July 28, 2010, 07:48:27 pm »


And if he does that his Java conks out and there's a chance half the websites he visits will have issues.



I don't think that many sites require Java itself  (JavaScript, which is not Java, is a different story).

if you've got the memory, you can push firefox pretty hard...  e.g. 2GB virtual, 1GB resident:
Code: [Select]
  PID COMMAND      %CPU   TIME   #TH #PRTS #MREGS RPRVT  RSHRD  RSIZE  VSIZE
 3481 firefox-bi   0.0%  106 hrs  30   587+  8521  960M+  102M+ 1096M+ 2162M+

that's a macbook pro with 30 firefox windows, many of them with multiple tabs.  I do use flashblock plugin to keep it from burning up too much CPU...



Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6607
  • Good Vibes 171
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #51 on: July 28, 2010, 08:29:54 pm »
You'd be amazed how many sites require Java.

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6991
  • Good Vibes 90
  • Who's picking the banjo here?
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #52 on: July 28, 2010, 10:53:34 pm »
I know I don't know much, but I thought it could never hurt to just switch it off, see what happens and then turn it back on if necessary. But the advice has been given already.
I have no idea what is going on with my FF, but I have the exact same forums open but the RAM usage is twice as much.
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion only when needed
Production and mixing

 

Get The Forum As A Mobile App