Author Topic: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)  (Read 4830 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MadCat

  • Arena Rocker
  • *****
  • Posts: 760
  • Good Vibes 6
  • Kassel-Germany
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #30 on: July 10, 2010, 08:39:57 pm »
12? Twelve? A dozen?  :o
I have 4 icons, excluding the umts icon, which I can't avoid.
Just the av-software, the soundcard icon, the ati system tray and win-amp.

You know that you can stop them from loading at startup?
You can manipulate the startup by using msconfig.exe.


My gear is here

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6972
  • Good Vibes 90
  • Who's picking the banjo here?
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #31 on: July 10, 2010, 09:18:43 pm »
I need the other half too, power supply, HDD protection, LAN cable not inserted, safely remove hardware, cd drive acoustic silencer utility, network utility, touchpad control... blablablah...
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion only when needed
Production and mixing

Offline MadCat

  • Arena Rocker
  • *****
  • Posts: 760
  • Good Vibes 6
  • Kassel-Germany
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #32 on: July 10, 2010, 09:33:48 pm »
Ah... didn't know you have a laptop.
Ok, laptops usualy have lots of programms running in the background.
And most of them won't use much RAM.

But what the hell is a cd drive acoustic silencer utility?

Have you checked which one of your FF-Ad-ons needs that much memory? I guess it's this three ships thingy, what ever this does.
My gear is here

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6972
  • Good Vibes 90
  • Who's picking the banjo here?
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #33 on: July 10, 2010, 10:57:20 pm »
Oh sorry, I forgot I had a laptop... I have monitors, flatscreen and external keyboard and soundcard hanging on it.

295 MB with four tabs (forums) open.
The three-ships thing is something to run a school-related application. I'm gonna go ahead and switch that off in a bit.

The CD drive silencer silences the drive when there is a CD in it. This was very useful during my test weeks.

Edit: 300 MB
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion only when needed
Production and mixing

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6558
  • Good Vibes 168
  • Is on the Outside, looking in
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #34 on: July 11, 2010, 02:04:21 am »

Microsoft .NET Framework Assistant 1.2.1
ThreeShips Helper Extension 1.0.2.6

227 MB with three tabs open now...

Those are the culprits.
ESPECIALLY that .net crap.
"You need a little bit of insanity to do great things"
--Henry Rollins

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6972
  • Good Vibes 90
  • Who's picking the banjo here?
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #35 on: July 11, 2010, 02:13:45 am »
60 MB with two tabs open.
Thank you Dan!
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion only when needed
Production and mixing

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6558
  • Good Vibes 168
  • Is on the Outside, looking in
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #36 on: July 11, 2010, 02:21:18 am »
YW  :)
If you want to spare more RAM in general, google the how to on how you remove that .net assistant entirely.
Saved me another 20 MB's
"You need a little bit of insanity to do great things"
--Henry Rollins

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6972
  • Good Vibes 90
  • Who's picking the banjo here?
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #37 on: July 11, 2010, 01:05:14 pm »
Thanks, I had to empty some DotNetAssistantExtention folder... Now iTunes is using more RAM than FF which hasn't happened in a long, long time!
Thanks again Dan!
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion only when needed
Production and mixing

Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6558
  • Good Vibes 168
  • Is on the Outside, looking in
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #38 on: July 11, 2010, 01:08:57 pm »
 ;)
"You need a little bit of insanity to do great things"
--Henry Rollins

Offline thepicnicband

  • Arena Rocker
  • *****
  • Posts: 699
  • Good Vibes 21
  • London, UK
    • YouTube Picnic Band Channel
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #39 on: July 25, 2010, 10:45:42 pm »
I have a PC business and fix up peoples' computers at home (when I'm not working as a receptionist at a GPs practice).
I've had a few clients telling me about similar problems and all of these problems were to do with Flash itself rather than any browser.
Try this for starters. Go to YouTube and start playing any old video. Right click in the video window and go to "settings" then click on the display tab (by default it should be selected I think). Now untick "enable hardware acceleration" and close the settings. This may solve the problem.

The next thing to try is to completely uninstall flash using the instructions and utility here
http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/141/tn_14157.html
then go to this page and install it again
http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

The latest version of flash had some major changes to the way HD is handled. If the above steps don't work then it could be your video adapter (or on-board video) that is reacting badly to those changes. You could try installing an older version from here
http://www.oldversion.com/Macromedia_Flash_Player.html

Hope this helps.
Ben
Epiphone AJ500RE, Takamine EG523SC, Vintage VE2000GG-12, Tanglewood MR750F, Vintage V100WR, Epiphone Sheraton II, Marshall AS100D Acoustic Amp, Marshall Lead 12 Mini-Stack

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6972
  • Good Vibes 90
  • Who's picking the banjo here?
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #40 on: July 26, 2010, 12:09:45 am »
Thanks! It kind of looks more continuous now when I play videos in 720p.
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion only when needed
Production and mixing

Offline Ragz

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3193
  • Good Vibes 35
  • Resident Spurs fan
    • Reliable Web Hosting @ 1&1
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #41 on: July 26, 2010, 07:43:06 pm »
I have a PC business and fix up peoples' computers at home (when I'm not working as a receptionist at a GPs practice).
I've had a few clients telling me about similar problems and all of these problems were to do with Flash itself rather than any browser.
Try this for starters. Go to YouTube and start playing any old video. Right click in the video window and go to "settings" then click on the display tab (by default it should be selected I think). Now untick "enable hardware acceleration" and close the settings. This may solve the problem.

The next thing to try is to completely uninstall flash using the instructions and utility here
http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/141/tn_14157.html
then go to this page and install it again
http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

The latest version of flash had some major changes to the way HD is handled. If the above steps don't work then it could be your video adapter (or on-board video) that is reacting badly to those changes. You could try installing an older version from here
http://www.oldversion.com/Macromedia_Flash_Player.html

Hope this helps.

Picnic,
If it were not localised to firefox, i would agree this would be the option to try.
However, i think that the problems people have been getting are localised to FF. Which generally points to an add-on within FF causing trouble.


Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6558
  • Good Vibes 168
  • Is on the Outside, looking in
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #42 on: July 26, 2010, 07:59:23 pm »
Nah Ragz, his advice for the flash video's being choppy is correct for current versions of flash that experience that issue.
It doesn't solve the memory slurping issues with FF, but that's where my previous advice comes in  :)
"You need a little bit of insanity to do great things"
--Henry Rollins

Offline irishalkies

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2053
  • Good Vibes 36
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #43 on: July 28, 2010, 01:54:23 am »
Anybody know about this add-on I have in my FF add-ons list?

Java Deployment Toolkit 6.0.160.1
Np Runtime Script Plug-in Library For Java(TM) Deploy
Known to cause security or stability issues More Information


I've pressed that more information button but it just serves me up loads of technical gobble-de-gook.

I have a disable button on there also, but that more information thing seems to suggest that merely disabling it doesn't solve whatever problem it's apparently causing.

So do I just disable it or what?

Cheers.

Irish.


Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6972
  • Good Vibes 90
  • Who's picking the banjo here?
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #44 on: July 28, 2010, 02:57:14 pm »
I'd say just disable it, you can always re-enable it if necessary. ;)
My FF seems to do fine, 100 MB RAM usage with two forums open.
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion only when needed
Production and mixing

 

Get The Forum As A Mobile App