Author Topic: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)  (Read 5432 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline irishalkies

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2053
  • Good Vibes 36
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #15 on: July 08, 2010, 04:37:14 pm »
Not had any problems with it for a while now, touch wood. I was beginning to think it might be an OS compatibility issue, as I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate - and my sister and nephew are using the same, and they had the same problems.


Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6991
  • Good Vibes 90
  • Who's picking the banjo here?
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #16 on: July 08, 2010, 05:32:32 pm »
I'm on XP 32-Bit SP3 if that helps.
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion only when needed
Production and mixing

Offline irishalkies

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2053
  • Good Vibes 36
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #17 on: July 08, 2010, 05:41:53 pm »
I'm on XP 32-Bit SP3 if that helps.

That tells me it ain't an OS problem then, coz you've got the same problems on XP.

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6991
  • Good Vibes 90
  • Who's picking the banjo here?
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #18 on: July 08, 2010, 06:18:41 pm »
How is your RAM usage for FF? Mine is at about 255 MB with two tabs open (2 forums).
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion only when needed
Production and mixing

Offline irishalkies

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2053
  • Good Vibes 36
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #19 on: July 08, 2010, 06:33:29 pm »
How is your RAM usage for FF? Mine is at about 255 MB with two tabs open (2 forums).

I'm not sure how to find that out, Cue. I've got two 'speedometers' on the right hand side of my desktop which show CPU usage 3% and RAM usage 30%, with two tabs open and only Firefox running. Everything seems to be running fine now anyway.

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6991
  • Good Vibes 90
  • Who's picking the banjo here?
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #20 on: July 08, 2010, 07:11:08 pm »
Task Manager and then the Processes tab. I'm not sure how that works on W7 though.
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion only when needed
Production and mixing

Offline Ragz

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3193
  • Good Vibes 35
  • Resident Spurs fan
    • Reliable Web Hosting @ 1&1
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #21 on: July 08, 2010, 08:22:39 pm »
Task Manager and then the Processes tab. I'm not sure how that works on W7 though.
The same way.
And that's pretty high for 2 tabs, Cue.
I've got 12 open and only using 120


Offline irishalkies

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2053
  • Good Vibes 36
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #22 on: July 08, 2010, 08:39:14 pm »
Wow. Mine says 654MB with one tab open. :o

I'll have to get my nephew over to have a look at things. He's the computer geek in the family.


Offline Dan Graves

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6604
  • Good Vibes 171
  • Is on the Outside, looking in
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #23 on: July 10, 2010, 02:43:36 am »
Don´t know what you boys are abusing firefox with, but i rarely go over 100 mb´s for over 10 tabs.
And that´s on Win7 64 bit.
"You need a little bit of insanity to do great things"
--Henry Rollins

(If you need me for something, PM ME FOR FSM'S SAKE ! I'm not around a lot, and I do NOT have thread notifications on!)

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6991
  • Good Vibes 90
  • Who's picking the banjo here?
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #24 on: July 10, 2010, 12:06:44 pm »
I don't abuse FF...
Mine is at 166MB now with this forum in one tab and another website in another.
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion only when needed
Production and mixing

Offline MadCat

  • Arena Rocker
  • *****
  • Posts: 760
  • Good Vibes 6
  • Kassel-Germany
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #25 on: July 10, 2010, 01:55:16 pm »
Cue, do you have any Add-Ons running?
I have about 75MB with 5 tabs open at the moment.
Win7 64.
My gear is here

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6991
  • Good Vibes 90
  • Who's picking the banjo here?
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #26 on: July 10, 2010, 02:19:13 pm »
Yes.
AdBlock Plus 1.2
Java Console 6.0.20
Java Quick Starter 1.0
Microsoft .NET Framework Assistant 1.2.1
ThreeShips Helper Extension 1.0.2.6

227 MB with three tabs open now...
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion only when needed
Production and mixing

Offline Ragz

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3193
  • Good Vibes 35
  • Resident Spurs fan
    • Reliable Web Hosting @ 1&1
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #27 on: July 10, 2010, 05:42:26 pm »
Yes.
AdBlock Plus 1.2
Java Console 6.0.20
Java Quick Starter 1.0
Microsoft .NET Framework Assistant 1.2.1
ThreeShips Helper Extension 1.0.2.6

227 MB with three tabs open now...

Hmm let's see, i've got 11 plugins running right now, including adblock plus.
My memory usage on it is 97MB. I have 6 tabs open.

I think you guys have extra crap running that's causing your firefox sessions to chew up memory. Either that, or perhaps there's something else you have in common... your OS. Are you both using XP still?


Offline Wishbone

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 4086
  • Good Vibes 105
  • Scouse B'Stard
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #28 on: July 10, 2010, 06:49:32 pm »
Ragz-

I'm still running XP; six open tabs; seven addons running.......... all only using 95-97mb. I can open it up to 10 tabs and, although the memory usage will climb, Firefox performance doesn't suffer.

It's not that new a machine, either; running 2 Gig of Ram, 64 bit dual core Athlon X2 @ 2.2Ghz per core.

It's entirely possible that there's more that can be cleaned out of memory to make space and give Firefox a bit of headroom. It constantly amazes me how many bits of junk people have running at startup when they can just as easily disable it to start when it's needed. When I get handed a computer for an MOT, the first thing I do when it starts up is watch the tray icons rack up. Always the same, every time, without fail. I've had some systems chewing themselves up with the drives going berserk to keep up with the VM demands and people wonder why their systems run slow 'all of a sudden'  ;D

Did my cousin's laptop last night. Another one who can't keep his AV up to date. Got himself a nice dose of 'XP Antivirus' variant and couldn't shift it himself. So I did it, gave his system a real good cleanout and updated all his security and AV software. The biggest p*** off, was the Microsoft WGA notification. It's a completely legit HP system and suddenly decided to tell him that his Windows wasn't genuine. I couldn't be arsed with that; I know it's legit, so I cracked the feckin' WGA just to get rid of the annoyance. That really p***es me off about Microsoft, that; some poor, unknowing bleeder will see that and put their hand in their pocket, thinking they're doing the right thing when it's nothing more than a complete c*ck up on the part of Microdaft.

Offline Cue Zephyr

  • All Time Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 6991
  • Good Vibes 90
  • Who's picking the banjo here?
    • Ezyo Music
Re: Anybody using Firefox?(problems)
« Reply #29 on: July 10, 2010, 08:27:51 pm »
I always want to reformat my whole systems once my processes start getting out of hand, like 70-80 when the pc has been on for a couple of hours - like, I have 69 (LOL) running right now.
Besides that I have 12 tray icons, half of it being of the manufacturer of the system. Others include WLM, sound card control panel, graphics card control panel and Avira.
I'll clean my FF files up now.
One tab open, 125 MB of RAM.
Guitar, banjo, mandolin and piano, bass and percussion only when needed
Production and mixing

 

Get The Forum As A Mobile App