Author Topic: new humbuckers for an ibanez gsz-120 (budget guitar)  (Read 1883 times)

tomnicholson

new humbuckers for an ibanez gsz-120 (budget guitar)
« on: April 21, 2010, 02:55:28 pm »
I have an ibanez gsz-120, which i paid £129 for, a few years ago.  i've been playing for a few years so my ear has picked up the cheaper-ness of the pickups, and have been thinking about replacements.  the construction on my ibanez is amazing for a cheap guitar, always stays in tune and not cheaply made (although the wood i think is basswood / cheap).  i've had it through different cheapish amps (fender frontman 15, marshall mg15 (god awful) and now a vox advt 30 (superb).  hence the sound coming down to the humbuckers.

so anyway, the kind of tone i'm after is a good clean sound with maybe a little distortion, for example - i've been into peter green quite a bit for a while now, i realise that his tone came from out of phase pickups and stuff, but i want to get across i'm after a warm sound rather than a high distortion crunchy (modern) sound.  older blues and stuff.

I have a strat that i can play all my dire straits, clapton and hendrix on, but since i have the guitar i thought i'd look at the upgrade route (rather than buying an expensive les paul)

would there be any specific pickups people would recommend for this kind of tone?  any other advice or comments would be helpful too - tell me if i'm going the wrong way about this / barking up the wrong tree.

thanks for reading, apologies for such a long post!

Offline Wishbone

• Stadium Superstar
  • Good Vibes 106
  • Scouse B'Stard
Re: new humbuckers for an ibanez gsz-120 (budget guitar)
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2010, 07:42:10 pm »
Tom-

The Ibanez JEM7V has a Basswood body mate............. you'll pay £2200 for one of those ;)

You don't need to buy an expensive Les Paul, Tom. Just buy yourself a good and functional lower cost one. If you like Peter Green, these are very popular: